We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than it looks”
Review of Water Bar

Water Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #31 of 94 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $9 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Water Bar is a fully licensed restaurant with fantastic bar facilities and located right on the lake front in Wanaka. Whether you are after a full dining experience, a casual brunch or lunch, or a lively late night entertainment venue, Water Bar can make your visit a fantastic experience.
Reviewed 20 April 2021 via mobile

Average venue but everything else in town had long waits. Pleasantly surprised. Food was okay with quick service and friendly staff. Bonus $10 small plates and the calamari and fish tacos were tasty. Ended up being there when the pub quiz started. So loud so we thought IF YOU CANT BEAT THEM, JOIN THEM. Had fun. Free chips at half time. No entry fee. Great night!

Date of visit: April 2021
Thank KiwiTrixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2021

amazing food
awesome service
great prices
best I have ever had in my life
nothing could ever beat this food

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2021 via mobile

Oh hell, met some mates here who are locals and set right down to business of catching up for a feed and a drink. Well that didnt last long, the months of not interacting were soon forgotten as the beer and wine flowed more freely than an avalanche on the side of Mt Aspiring. Yes we ate, but what we actually consumed I can not reflect back on, it could've been cat or it could've been aged old steak, I have no idea.
The next day our heads hurt and so did the bank account.

Date of visit: February 2021
2  Thank RustyS215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 January 2021

Had the pumpkin salad which was utterly lovely, really tasty. Fries arrived after we had finished eating 🥴.
Pleasant waitress.
Major Down side, outside area it's so so Smokey, yuk. Plus we sat in a non smoking area and people continued to vape there too. Gross.
Then a mother and daughter started having a drink fight... So drunk.
Can't even make this stuff up..
Interesting hour.
Food satisfied us though so thanks, I guess.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 January 2021 via mobile

After a big day travelling we were all pretty hangry, we were served quick and the meals arrived fast too. Great steak for $20 and the kids loved the build your own tacos. Nice to have options other than fish and nuggets

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank reneep801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Water Bar also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Water Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.