We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot across from the lake”
Review of Relishes Cafe

Relishes Cafe
Ranked #10 of 96 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Wanaka is our place. For 30 years Relishes has created modern New Zealand cuisine from the wild and wonderful ingredients at our door. Join us for fresh, delicious, imaginative food at breakfast, lunch or dinner. The Home of Good Food Relishes is a Wanaka lakefront icon. A relaxed sunny café by day and an atmospheric candlelit restaurant by night. Our brunches are legendary, our lunches and dinners divine. Relishes is a family run restaurant. Sister, brother duo, Tasha and Toby can often be seen running the cafe, Paul is hidden behind scenes. Together they have been passionate about Wanaka, food and service for one and a half decades.
Reviewed 11 February 2021 via mobile

Ended up in here because it was raining and was the first place we cane across that wasn't a pub. Fortuitous for us. Good food at a decent price, with a couple of very good kids meals as well. Would recommend!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank kiwihatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,573)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2021

Brilliant setting outside in the morning sun, prompt friendly service and such a tasty filling cooked breakfast. Great coffee and free iced water. The only negative was that the toasted ciabatta was too tough to cut with the knives provided so it was a difficult to eat tidily. BUT, so tasty.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robertc4atw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2021

We went in for breakfast. The cafe was busy but we found a table and were quickly served. Meals came out in good time and were pleasant. Coffee nice.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2021 via mobile

great service and food arrived quickly. appreciate the options for those with dietary requirements, however the vegan meal I had (while nice) was nothing too special. found the aioli a bit too garlic forward and do wish the fries were seasoned, but otherwise a good experience. partner enjoyed his cooked breakfast :)

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank azouke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 December 2020

On Saturday 12 December my wife and a friend visited Relishes for lunch. They have both been there before on many occasions, for breakfasts and lunches. On this day they asked for a bottle of Rosé wine to go with the meal. There was only one choice of rosé on the wine list (Petane). When the wait-person served the wine it was poured into each glass - no show of the bottle or offer to taste - and it was a straw/green colour. My wife enquired as to whether it was actually rosé or not, and was told it was rosé. She then tasted it and declared it undrinkable and that she thought it was off, and told the wait-person so. They then ordered a bottle of sauvignon blanc and were told they would still have to pay for the two glasses of rosé. My wife was dumbfounded. When the bill came, they were charged for the sauvignon blanc and the two glasses of pee water. They were quite happy with the food, but the attitude of the wait-person to their complaint left the same taste in my wife’s mouth as the so-called rosé.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mayfly8051
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Relishes Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Relishes Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.