We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good selection of beers and decent food”

Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Lake Wanaka lakefront Kai Whakapai Cafe & Bar is known as the Wanaka Institution. A place to slow down and take the load off. Sit down and slow down. Meet friends, new and old, tell stories. Make stories. We serve good food, good brews, good music and a good attitude to good people. So come on down and experience a bit of local Wanaka. We are Kai.
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Pizza was decent - chips were very greasy and not great. They had a wide selection of beers to choose from I tried a few pilsners which were really tasty. They serve pints and have outdoor seating on the lake

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank charlottewE6042WC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2024 via mobile

I had the gluten free version of the open steak sandwich with chips and couldn't fault it. The steak was cooked as I had ordered it and everything was delicious. I loved the pesto! The place was really busy and had a good buzz to it. I managed to find an outside table, but as soon as I left, it was taken by some other people which shows how popular it is.

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank CornishEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024 via mobile

We really liked this cafe and enjoyed delicious food. I had the best cheese scone I've ever had! Polite and friendly staff in a great location.

Date of visit: February 2024
1  Thank 76lucye
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 February 2024

Great location. Meet friendly locals. Hot spot for people watching.
Excellent food, coffee and a very good selection of New Zealand beers on tap.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Mark Tommo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nick Aubrey, Owner at Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2024

Tommo - Thanks for taking the time to leave a review! We are so happy you enjoyed your experiance! See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

My son and I (and our friend Tony Ted) were recently on an adventure to NZ and the places where we ate had some of the best food I've ever tasted. The Kai Whaka Pai is our fave. The food was exceptional! My son had been fancying Eggs Benedict for a few days and boy did they deliver, he kept shaking his fork at it - which is a clear sign he was enjoying it - and he savoured every mouthful. He said it is the best he has ever had and has already tried to create it, I don't think anything will beat it!

I had the Avo Smash and it was amazing!! More like a banquet of scrummy goodness right there! I wish I lived around the corner but I'd become very fat very quickly! The combination of flavours is incredible.

The menu was fabulous and sadly we only had time for one breakfast before we headed off. It was definitely worth the 14,000 trip to be able to sample such gorgeous food. No wonder they're popular, they deserve to be. Thank you to everyone who works there.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank C6222LUchristines
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.