We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunchtime drinks”

Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Lake Wanaka lakefront Kai Whakapai Cafe & Bar is known as the Wanaka Institution. A place to slow down and take the load off. Sit down and slow down. Meet friends, new and old, tell stories. Make stories. We serve good food, good brews, good music and a good attitude to good people. So come on down and experience a bit of local Wanaka. We are Kai.
Reviewed 3 July 2023 via mobile

Very enjoyable time very busy friendly staff ,warm had a mulled wine which was delicious will be back again for more thank you

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank EquestrianE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2023 via mobile

Weekend away.
Busy little corner place.
Up stairs seating also.
Nice view of the lake.
Friendly staff.
Warm inside.
Coffee and hot chocolate.
Very tasteful.

Date of visit: June 2023
Thank TinVet
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2023

We chose to walk in before going for a hike at Roys Peak. The coffee is good. The food was a bit burned. They have a wide selection of food and drinks.

Date of visit: November 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AxelBender
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 April 2023

Visited Wanaka and decided to have some lunch and it wasn’t too busy so went inside, in the counter we spotted what looked like a couple of bacon rolls so decided to have them when they arrived heated up they were more like breakfast rolls with egg, bacon, tomato and I think cheese & greens, along with the coffee they were very good. If back in Wanaka we’d visit again.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MBG1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 April 2023 via mobile

Visted for coffee and breakfast. Both were fantastic (Eggs Benny was sublime), and café atmosphere was excellent. Staff happy and friendly. Highly recommend.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank Lomac-_-2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.