We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for drinks and relaxed food”

Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 96 Restaurants in Wanaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Lake Wanaka lakefront Kai Whakapai Cafe & Bar is known as the Wanaka Institution. A place to slow down and take the load off. Sit down and slow down. Meet friends, new and old, tell stories. Make stories. We serve good food, good brews, good music and a good attitude to good people. So come on down and experience a bit of local Wanaka. We are Kai.
Reviewed 7 March 2023 via mobile

Stopped here for drinks and sat outside under heaters which was nice. Ended up having nachos and shared the small size plate with my wife. Tasty and more than enough so we didn’t eat anything else. A bit haphazard service from staff with table being cleared of old plates by staff who didn’t wipe the messy gave even though we did ask. Did it ourselves with a couple of wet wipes. We also had to go inside to ask for cutlery. Aside from that, staff incredibly friendly and we would go back because of that and the nice atmosphere. Nice place.

Date of visit: March 2023
1  Thank ClockworkNellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

19 - 23 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2023

We had lunch here and the experience was good. We ate in the terrace, in the middle of main Lake Wanaka's street. We orderd nachos, burgers and a very good rib-eye with pesto sauce. Very good service, as well. Quite expensive but food quality was ok

Date of visit: February 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Antoni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 February 2023 via mobile

Stopped through Wanaka while driving south and were not disappointed. I ordered the jackfruit nachos in a small (large would be a good sharing size but a small was more than enough for me). Completely delicious- lots of jalapeño though, so steer clear if that’s not your jam.

Date of visit: February 2023
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2023 via mobile

Really nice pizzas here. This was a busy little restaurant when we went, so were lucky to get an outside table. Staff were nice and food didn't take long to come out.

Date of visit: January 2023
Thank Trixie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 January 2023 via mobile

This was a very disappointing meal. For a family of big eaters, leaving anything behind on the place is rare - two thirds of our meals were left behind. The visit was between Christmas and new years so that could have contributed but the quality of the food, particularly temperature was subpar. I had the big breakfast - the sausages were cold and covered in grease. The scrambled eggs were likewise lukewarm but the mushrooms were colder than the outside temperature. The potato and feta hash cakes (which three of us had) were dry and not pleasant tasting. The hot drinks were of a better standard but, overall, very surprised it gets the rating it does.

Date of visit: December 2022
Thank OxfordKiwiLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.