We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bar”

Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #13 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Situated on the Lake Wanaka lakefront Kai Whakapai Cafe & Bar is known as the Wanaka Institution. A place to slow down and take the load off. Sit down and slow down. Meet friends, new and old, tell stories. Make stories. We serve good food, good brews, good music and a good attitude to good people. So come on down and experience a bit of local Wanaka. We are Kai.
Reviewed 12 June 2020

Managed to hit the happy hour both nights we went.
Great selection of beers a good prices.
Brilliant outside space to watch the locals and visitors have a great time.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank DurhamEvvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,061)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 99 of 1,061 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2020 via mobile

Great menu, delicious tea (I’d recommend the wild berry!) and friendly staff. We did wait quite a while for our breakfast but it was delicious upon arrival!

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank ClaireWinchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 March 2020

Great lunch as part of my excellent Backroads hiking tour. Our group was comfortably accommodated upstairs - we were served a feast of salads and other items - I just focused on the salads. Servers were very attentive and friendly.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RandiFayeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 March 2020

We stopped for a beer during a walk and found all the tables occupied, many by a fairly young crowd. We found a local sitting with his dog enjoying a beer and we asked to join him. During our visit we got a bit of history and perspective, while having a wonderful time people-watching. This place seems real upbeat and the staff were a lot of fun. Didn't eat here but based on observations, the food looked good.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
Thank DL2Some
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 March 2020

Great breakfasts & lunch, with good service & reasonable prices. We kept going back while we were in Wanaka, because we liked it so much.

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EdgwareNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Kai Whakapai Cafe, Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.