We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
eDreams
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
nikaus21
Newcastle, Australia

Great views

Review of Lakeview Motel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2023via mobile
This place is self contained, has wonderful views looking over the lake. I like being up high, though it's a 8 brisk min walk to downtown and shops. Bbq needed a clean. However, sunset over the lake and mountains is so lovely and relaxing. Host was friendly. Only be mindful, if you are on ground floor, u will hear noise from the apartment's upstairs. Thought the price was reasonable . Parking a bit tight downstairs, but there is on-street parking if needed
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Noise comes from upstairs
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$461
  • Hotels.com
    $461
  • Vio.com
    $408
  • Expedia.com
    $461
0.4 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$211
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $211
  • Agoda.com
    $172
  • Expedia.com
    $211
0.6 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
Booking.com
$168
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $137
  • Hotels.com
    $154
0.6 km from Lakeview Motel
Free parking
Booking.com
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $235
  • ZenHotels.com
    $212
  • travelup.com
    $867
1.9 km from Lakeview Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Spring in your step!
Booking.com
$192
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $192
  • Trip.com
    $134
  • Expedia.com
    $192
0.8 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Expedia.com
    $219
0.8 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
one bedroom apartment living seperate bedroom has a queen bed & single bed
Booking.com
$160
  • Priceline
    $160
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $160
0.9 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$176
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $176
  • Vio.com
    $156
  • Expedia.com
    $174
0.6 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$330
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $295
  • Agoda.com
    $282
  • Hotels.com
    $302
2.3 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$150
  • Priceline
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $124
  • Expedia.com
    $150
23.6 km from Lakeview Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (301)
Filter reviews
301 results
Traveller rating
168
109
18
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
168
109
18
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake and mountains min walk self contained centre of town views bbq upstairs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 301 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2023

Everything you need to know about this place is in the name – the view from this hotel is spectacular, with near unbroken view to the town, and then right back up the lake to the mountains.
Location is also superb, about 7-8 minutes walk into town, though this does involve a steep set of 60 stairs (you can avoid this with a longer walk to the next intersection).
At the bottom of those stairs is a small grocery store, and plenty of places to get a coffee, lunch or a meal. 5 minutes further and you’re at the lake and in the centre of town.
The WIFI was fine, and the park ing was right outside the door.
However the room, and indeed the hotel is badly in need of a makeover. Furniture, the small kitchen benchtop, and especially the bathroom, are very dated.
If you’re after hotel service this is not the place - check in was a printed piece of paper on the door with instructions.
But it worked and the room was cleaned every day and rubbish removed by a lovely lady.
Still, you easily ignore all that when you have this view, from your bed, from the window, or sitting out front on the small deck. It’s stunning everywhere you look.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 September 2022 via mobile

Ok motel for a night and in good location with plenty of walking tracks if you want to do this or can walk to town. Whilst it was clean bathroom very dated and quite run down on outside though the view does make up for this.
Also could do with topper pad on bed as quite hard lying on electric blanket under bottom sheet.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank redunn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 January 2021 via mobile

Greeting was polite but certainly not friendly or welcoming. In fact we could barely understand a word due to a strong accent.

We read the reviews & although expected “dated” we were gutted. Once inside the room it was like going back 60 + years.

The “covering” on the wall behind the bed cracking & lifting away. No headboard & one pillow each. Only a couple of light bulbs worked.

Commercial soap pump by ancient yellow marble sink in bathroom & same in the shower, no other toiletries. No pictures anywhere, drab, dark paint, it felt more like doc cabin room than a nice motel room.

The view from the concrete path outside the room was lovely. It was a massive disappointment. Would never recommend!!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Clare S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2020

The view from our room was incredible. You could not get tired to looking at that. Just amazing. Short 10 minute walk to town. Parking is available and a bit tight but just go slow down the drive and you are all good. Flo was amazing, my husband left his hoodie in the cupboard when we left and she posted this to our home address for us. Service with a smile. The units have everything you need and were very comfortable. What a great location, fell in love with Wanaka and the lovely people. Thank you Flo for going the extra mile for us, we really appreciate it. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shelley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 November 2020 via mobile

One of the reasons I booked here was for the views and it did not disappoint. It definitely lives up to its name and has a fantastic view of the lake. I had a ground level room, which was spacious, the bed was comfortable and the kitchen was well furnished. I would note it is a little dated, but that didn’t bother me. The staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is a short walk (about 10/15 mins) from restaurants and shops but note it is an uphill walk on the way back.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Irish_Kiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews