We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
ZenHotels.com
$175
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Kat T
Singapore, Singapore

Pleasant stay and good location.

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 9 Apr 2024via mobile
We stayed one night in a 2 bedroom apartment. It was basic but clean and was more than satisfactory. Very good location, just a short walk down to the lake and my kids LOVED the playground!

The host was very friendly and helpful recommending another fantastic playground at the waters edge and also a family friendly Mexican restaurant nearby.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Amigos Mexican restaurant near the waters edge was a nice family friendly option. Great...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $234
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $216
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
one bedroom apartment living seperate bedroom has a queen bed & single bed
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $159
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $231
  • Hotels.com
0.3 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $210
  • Hotels.com
2.2 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $175
  • Hotels.com
0.2 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $305
  • Hotels.com
1.9 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Official Site
    $350
  • Hotels.com
23.4 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $214
  • Algotels
2.2 km from Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveller rating
199
97
30
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
199
97
30
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location car windscreen comfortable unit walking distance big tv short walk to the lake would stay again close to town heat pump great place to stay an upgrade rooms are clean enjoyed our stay ski trip good size one night stay stayed for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 338 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

Neat and Clean Rooms with comfortable beds.

Five minutes walk to the lake, shops, and restaurants.

BBQ area, playground area for kids.

I will highly recommend this family own motel.

If you love indian food, then Ashraf's indian restaurant is next door. Very busy all days, mostly by locals. Good food.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ajit_from_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 January 2024

A brilliant team who looked at my special request associated with my wife’s limited mobility and looking for a view and we were upgraded to a perfect room with porch and bed views. Such considerate hosts.

The room, although a little dated, was comfortable and had everything we needed. The extra large bed gave us a perfect sleep and when I had mastered the air-con we also had a room at the correct temperature.

Recommend for short stays.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V7571LQmichaelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2023 via mobile

Ideal motel for a couple of nights. Karen checked us in and was very friendly, sharing lots of info about the local area and ideas of places to visit. Room was clean, bright and comfortable. Nice big TV too compared to other places. We had a room on the corner so thought we might have a bit of noise with cars going to units behind but we didn’t hear a thing. Kitchenette in room was a bit dated but we didn’t really need it with so many places to eat locally. The location is great, walkable to lake and restaurants. We’re already planning another trip to South Island and will likely stay here again as it had everything we needed.

Tip - if you love Indian food visit the restaurant next door to motel. Hands down the best Indian meal we have had in years.

Room tip: Fuel cheaper in retail park out of town. Indian restaurant next door is amazing, best to book in advance
Date of stay: November 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Claresteve34
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 December 2023

Nothing fancy, checked all the boxes for a one night stay. Typical motel with car parked by your unit. Karen at reception was very cheerful and helpful. Zero problem with noise and beautiful grounds with blooming trees and flowers everywhere. BBQ available to use. Good location as it's only a 5 min walk to the stores and restaurants. Had 2 phenomenal meals lunch at Federal Diner with a pork shoulder roti not to be missed and dinner at Kika. Tip for people that need to top up the gas tank... Do not use the gas station in town around the corner from the motel, almost 40c/L diff if you go just outside town. As for the Alpine Motel the main negative was the lack of proper Wifi, so painfully slow it's unusable, that said... They are planning to switch service very soon so check with them.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank door2doorwithSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 July 2023 via mobile

We were in Wanaka and fed up of the campervan after 5 days on the road and decided to grab a motel to warm up. After some research on location we chose this Motel because this and the mention of adequate parking ( for the camper). From the moment we stepped into the reception area we had a warm welcome from Karen , who quickly made us room to park our vehicle.
The accommodation was clean, welcoming and had all the amenities you could need ( including a much needed heat pump ).We used the on-site laundry which was great after a Week on the road too. We ended up staying two nights as the location is perfect for all the best spots in Wanaka -we will definitely be back. Thanks Karen and Mark, it was a pleasure staying with you.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jonnytbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen and Paul Mitchell, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka And Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2023

Thanks so much for the wonderful review Jonathan, it was such a pleasure to have you both come and stay, and we are pleased you had a great time here. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your holiday and look forward to seeing you next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews