We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (205)
Filter reviews
205 results
Traveller rating
109
62
27
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
62
27
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location wifi strength car windscreen sand pit well equipped huge tv bedroomed unit the kitchen short walk from the lake brilliant stay handy location great shower business trip cooking facilities walking distance heat pump friendly hosts
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 205 reviews
Reviewed 10 September 2018 via mobile

We had a fab stay at this motel. Good value
Cheery welcome and very friendly hosts.
Clean room and good amenities.
Easy walk to the lake and town.
One of the best bits was towels on our car window to prevent iced up windscreen- loved this kindness.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank P3988FLmaryr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Close to ale house and takeaway shops. Roomy 2 bedroom unit and new bathroom revamp (apparently living area is going to be painted next week). Strict 2pm checkin rule. you could hear everything the next door people said and the water pipe noise was awful. Old and overall very budgetary.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Desley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derek J, Owner at Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Your unbelievable.
Show where anywhere that we claim to have a lake view. We are less than 500 mtrs walk to lake water edge, and at night who has a lake view anywhere.
2 pm is checkin everywhere i know of in New Zealand, we are also 11am checkout your room was still being cleaned so unreal that your 11.30 arrival you expected a room and no phone call beforehand. You only had one! neighbouring room with Father Daughter professional skiers here for competition we know for a fact they were asleep early.
Perhaps being told that at 11.30 that your room was not ready please enjoy Wanaka and come back at 2PM upset You.
Customers like you, we are pleased are very few,
Enjoy your day you have spoilt mine Derek and Crystal Owners

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018

Derek was an absolutely brilliant host/owner. Nothing was too much trouble, extremely friendly and helpful, and always quick to please. We were treated in a very personal way - not just 'another number' staying there.
The location is fantastic, within short walking distance to everything and the room/facilities were exceptionally clean and very comfortable and a great size.
Although we don't have small children the motel is very family friendly with a huge well equipped safe play area which will keep little ones entertained for quite a while.
There are a lot of motels in Wanaka however the Alpine Motel really is the place to stay, after a long day travelling it's so nice to arrive and be welcomed as if you've just come home (unlike many other places we stayed in whilst touring around over there)
We will definately be staying there again when next in NZ and will also recommend to all of our friends. Well done Derek and the Team!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bronwen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Excellent value for this motel. Great location easy stroll into town, spotlessly clean and all facilities you would need for a few nights stay. We weren't traveling with children but the looked like they catered really well with great sand pit play area and what looked like great boxes of toys in the reception area.
Excellent free wifi.
Staff / management extremely friendly and helpful. Highly recommended as a great base for Wanaka.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Jocablebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

So very close to town, 5 min walk.
Spacious, very well appointed and clean.
Great heat pump which had been turned n for us so was toasty warm.
Reception made it easy to book and great rates.
Wouk definitely stay again!!!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews