We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RhellieKeith
Adelaide, Australia

Central location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Mar 2020via mobile
Check-in was friendly and efficient. The room was spacious with balcony overlooking the street. In the room.....a kitchenette, lounge, eating area. Included was a microwave, jug, toaster, hot plate and crockery. The location was ideal. Walking distance to main shopping/eating district was 5 minutes. A large supermarket was 1 minute walk. This is an older alpine style motel. Free wifi and parking is available.
Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$514
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Trip.com
0.4 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$297
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $297
1.6 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $209
0.9 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.7 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free parking
Restaurant
Wanaka Hotel
$185
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$174
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$222
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $222
0.4 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$142
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $142
23.0 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
$150
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.0 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $168
  • Agoda.com
0.6 km from Aspiring Lodge Motel
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (267)
Filter reviews
267 results
Traveller rating
86
102
57
18
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
86
102
57
18
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location first floor three nights few minutes walk comfortable bed lake wifi balcony town sofa lodge bedding heating
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 267 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2020

What can I say, the staff are helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Almost everything is within walking distance. Supermarket next door, all shops and restaurants are only a few minutes walk away. Highly recommend

Room tip: Nothing, we had a few problems but these were settled immediately without hesitancy
Date of stay: January 2020
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank trylambda
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2019 via mobile

The good points are outweighed by the bad points.
The good points being that the room was spacious, had a decent balcony and was really well located close to the town, lake and bars/ restaurants and literally next door to a supermarket. The staff were also very pleasant and helpful.
We started in Room 11 but because the hot tap in the bathroom did not work they moved us to Room 10.
The rooms were lined with dark pine, which we found dark and dingy. Even after switching on all the lights it was grim. The whole place was really tired and fittings very basic and in need of updating. The kitchenette was especially basic and had a portable 2-ring unit to cook on. (Better than Room 10 that had a single ring portable ring). The controls were in my lay-view faulty and none of the small appliances were PAT tested, which is not compulsory in NZ but was done in most other places we had stayed.
During our 4 night stay the TVs in all 14 rooms did not function. On the 4th night the manager loaned us a plug-in Freeview device but after 7pm it would not stream due to the weak WiFi. The manager said they had just installed 4 WiFi boosters, so clearly it must have been even worse before we stayed.
During the evening/night the building contracted with really loud creaks. Also the fridge was near the bed and buzzed all night so each night we switched it off and on again in the morning.
I would not stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 December 2019

Very clean, loved all the wood, which made the room smell nice. Kitchenette was also nice, had a small hot plate in addition to microwave for heating food. Good location, walking distance to downtown.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 November 2019

Nice and comfortable little Lodge in the city center. Great Value for money, We stayed there for 1 night and it was a comfortable stay. Super Market and all shops and Restaurants are just 2 mins walk from the lodge.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shivani_bhargava
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2019

Bed was awesome, we didn’t have any issues and really enjoyed the stay. Would stay again. Would recommend to anybody. Staff friendly and inviting. The room and the bathroom are very clean and tidy. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ally6975
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews