We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
38
24
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
24
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm big lockers the kitchen outside area common room mount iron place to stay lounge sockets winter couch
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

I was coming through Wanaka on my bike, I had to stop somewhere. Found this backpacker, the only one with availability. Staff really welcoming, overall, really clean place, good selection of movies to chill, good people to meet. I met the owner, he let me used his tools to fix my bike, really felt like at home. From two weeks, I stayed 4 months there.. highly recommended!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
1  Thank Clement S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the private dorm to avoid sleepless nights. Unfortunately 4 of the 5 nights we were woken up at 2 - 3am by other guests who were either talking/yelling loudly in common areas or in their rooms. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hostel is filled with long term residents who treat it as their own home. The kitchen is in the centre of the hostel and close to all rooms. This is a poor design, especially with late night inconsiderate guests. Small things such as wet tea towels and broken appliances really broke the camels back.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Meg_3630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Recently visited wanaka and decided to stay at the flying kiwi due to the decent reviews. Upon checking in was charged $8 extra credit card charge for using my bank card and found that "free wifi" meant 500 mb allowance daily and additional could be bought at extra cost. All of this info was contradictory to what we had read when booking on hostelworld. Kitchen was small and cramped at times as were rooms that not as pictured. Almost entire hostel is populated by longtimers who work around the area and the vibe felt like you were intruding in their house. Condescending signage around the hostel notified guests they would be charged $50 if they left dirty dishes and almost everything incurred a charge. Including a $10 charge for not being out of your room by 10 am, towels were $2 etc. All hostels I've stayed at in the past have been friendly and accommodating, I definitely didnt feel this here. Would have checked out earlier but payment was non refundable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank halfahoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

As per previous reviews, this hostel feels too small for the volume of people. The lounge and dining table (just one) is at the front of the hostel and is a bit intimidating as you go through to reception to check in.
The rooms are ok though and the 4 bed dorm we stayed in had vanity curtains on each bed, a light and a plug socket which was the best thing about the hostel.
The fridges were full up with peoples alcohol so it was hard to find space for your food

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2016JuliaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. The hostel honestly feels too small for the number of people there. It was full or nearly full when we were there and it constantly felt cramped. The kitchen is tiny and only 2 people can effectively cook in there at a time and the microwave was incredibly dirty. The common room is too small with 2 couches and a wooden bench and was almost always packed so it never feels like you get your own space. There's an outside area too but without any heating it's far too cold to eat or relax out there in winter.
The dorms were a good temperature making it more comfortable to sleep but they were very messy and cluttered and felt like it should have been a 4 bed and not a 6.

Internet was limited to 500mb a day but speeds were ok.

Showers were good and toilets were clean.

There wasn't much interaction with the staff but they seemed friendly.

It's an ok place to crash for a night or two but if you want an extended stay in Wanaka I'd have to recommend elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Whiterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews