We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (82)
Filter reviews
82 results
Traveller rating
38
24
12
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
38
24
12
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bed dorm big lockers the kitchen outside area common room mount iron place to stay lounge sockets winter couch
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 82 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2017 via mobile

Recently visited wanaka and decided to stay at the flying kiwi due to the decent reviews. Upon checking in was charged $8 extra credit card charge for using my bank card and found that "free wifi" meant 500 mb allowance daily and additional could be bought at extra cost. All of this info was contradictory to what we had read when booking on hostelworld. Kitchen was small and cramped at times as were rooms that not as pictured. Almost entire hostel is populated by longtimers who work around the area and the vibe felt like you were intruding in their house. Condescending signage around the hostel notified guests they would be charged $50 if they left dirty dishes and almost everything incurred a charge. Including a $10 charge for not being out of your room by 10 am, towels were $2 etc. All hostels I've stayed at in the past have been friendly and accommodating, I definitely didnt feel this here. Would have checked out earlier but payment was non refundable.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank halfahoser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017

As per previous reviews, this hostel feels too small for the volume of people. The lounge and dining table (just one) is at the front of the hostel and is a bit intimidating as you go through to reception to check in.
The rooms are ok though and the 4 bed dorm we stayed in had vanity curtains on each bed, a light and a plug socket which was the best thing about the hostel.
The fridges were full up with peoples alcohol so it was hard to find space for your food

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 2016JuliaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here. The hostel honestly feels too small for the number of people there. It was full or nearly full when we were there and it constantly felt cramped. The kitchen is tiny and only 2 people can effectively cook in there at a time and the microwave was incredibly dirty. The common room is too small with 2 couches and a wooden bench and was almost always packed so it never feels like you get your own space. There's an outside area too but without any heating it's far too cold to eat or relax out there in winter.
The dorms were a good temperature making it more comfortable to sleep but they were very messy and cluttered and felt like it should have been a 4 bed and not a 6.

Internet was limited to 500mb a day but speeds were ok.

Showers were good and toilets were clean.

There wasn't much interaction with the staff but they seemed friendly.

It's an ok place to crash for a night or two but if you want an extended stay in Wanaka I'd have to recommend elsewhere.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Whiterun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017 via mobile

The cleanest real hostel I stayed in. People actually clean their dishes and behave properly. The rooms and facilities are very clean too. This place caters best to long term stays, but accommodates really well if staying for a few nights. Location close to center and night life.
Only negative point is that internet is not unlimited and does not reach all the rooms, so you have to make do.

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank nicolas s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

I spend three nights there in a mixt dorm, the staff is absolutely awesome, I was doing a late check out and the girl left a nice note for me for saying welcome :)
the room was ok, maybe a bit small and the bed was noisy
the kitchen is small so it is better to go outside the busy hours because it can get hard to cook. There is a nice place outside to relax, and a lounge to watch movies, and lot of books.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pauline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews