We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning apartment.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lakeside Apartments
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning apartment.”
Reviewed 11 January 2017

This was one of the best stays in NZ. We stayed in a 2 bedroom poolside apartment for 3 nights with our daughter and partner. It was enormous and had everything we needed and more. It was beautifully furnished, clean, modern and comfortable. There was even a laundry room which came at the right time in our month long trip. The hotel is well situated, only a short walk to the centre of town and has great views over the lake.
We were also grateful for the extremely helpful and friendly lady receptionist who helped us sort out a problem when we had accidentally booked a room twice.
The only slight downside was we found being poolside a little noisy as a very large family was staying in the next door apartment, although we love children when returning we will probably choose an apartment higher up.

Room Tip: Higher rooms for views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cumbriagirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, and so thoroughly.

The Poolside Apartments have their pluses and minuses, so yes really does depend on what holiday you are after. They are perfect for families who want direct access to the pool. For those that prefer a little more privacy the apartments on the second, third and fourth floors are more suited.

We heat the pool in the summer months only.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    463
    30
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
163
235
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2017

We had high expectations for Lakeside and it lived up to them.

The hotel itself had about as good a location as possible. Right in the heart of Wanaka, on the waterfront with amazing views. For a family, it's excellent with a pool and the dinosaur playground across the street. (I do wish pool was better heated though).

We were able to walk to all of our meals and activities in Wanaka, except Roy's Peak hike) which was nice.

The units were apartments. Full kitchen and living room, large bedrooms, washer dryer and huge deck with hot tub and stunning views. Just couldn't ask for a better unit. Was clean and in newish condition. Kitchen had everything you needed to cook even though we didn't cook much because of the restaurant options in Wanaka.

Wifi was excellent which was a rarity in New Zealand and I commend them for that.

About the only suggestion I could offer was supplying paper towels or napkins - would be better to help folks keep apartment cleaner.

They were also kind enough to accept rental bikes that were dropped off for us. They also suggested a babysitting service which worked out great.

I would recommend highly to anyone.

Room Tip: Penthouse great for hot tub and views. Rooms by pools good if you will use heavily
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BH136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barwon Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Blown away by the size of the apartment, fabulous views from the rooms and big balcony. Perfect position close to cafes, everything!
Immaculately clean, well equipped, friendly and efficient staff.
Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 207. Biggest balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sapphirefearless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2017

We stayed in a 3 bedroom pool side apartment for 6 nights. The kitchen is so well equipped that you can just cook whatever you would in your own home. The laundry is a huge bonus and the space just wonderful. This accommodation is just like having your own luxury holiday home. One of the best run establishments I have ever seen. The housekeeping staff do an incredible job with the place being just immaculate.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Inverness1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Thank you for your review and so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully you will be back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We were in New Zealand during the earthquake...Lake Wanaka was not on our original stop; however, when we go back to NZ it will be the first place we go and Lakeside Apartments will be the first place we reserve!!! The view, the living environment and the hospitality are superb! Gorgeous view of the lake and mountains. Modern, spotless and well-furnished apartment with beautiful patio/decks. Hospitality at its' best! One block to shopping and fabulous restaurants, plus a mediterranean market for shopping if you prefer to cook. Again, this will be the first place we reserve when returning to New Zealand-we planned to stay one night and stayed 4 instead! Thank you.

Room Tip: any room, but go for the top floors if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runtoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy M, Public Relations Manager at Lakeside Apartments, responded to this review, 10 March 2017
Thanks for taking the time to review your extended stay with us. Always great to have guests that want to stay longer and we can accommodate them :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.0 km away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.9 km away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
2.3 km away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.3 km away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.7 km away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeside Apartments

Property: Lakeside Apartments
Address: 9 Lakeside Road, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Luxury Hotel in Wanaka
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price range (per night): $333 - $492
Hotel Class:5 star — Lakeside Apartments 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of picturesque Wanaka and a stone’s throw from the lake edge, these luxurious 1, 2 and 3 bedroom apartments are the perfect place to stay. Relaxation, romance, business, adventure … whatever your reason to visit Wanaka, these spacious and serviced apartments can cater for your every need.Enjoy awesome views of Lake Wanaka and the mountains beyond, while relaxing on your private balcony. All apartments have a designer kitchen, two bathrooms, including one en-suite and one with spa bath, spacious living and dining areas and secure garages. Facilities on site include swimming pools, spas and BBQ area. Within two minutes walk are Wanaka’s restaurants, cafes, bars and shops. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeside Apartments Hotel Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing