We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Wine Listing”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Reserve a table
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 17 February 2024 via mobile

Called passed yesterday for a quick bottle of wine 🍷. Amazing local Riesling nice and dry. The service was quick and friendly. Well worth a visit.

Date of visit: February 2024
2  Thank 116damiens
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5 - 9 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2024

A lively restaurant with a fairly simple menu but everything we had was well cooked and tasty. Portions good size. Serving staff friendly and helpful. Value for money. Plenty of parking nearby.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2024

The service was poor even though there was heaps of staff, who seemed to be walking around aimlessly.
The menu was very limited with a number of items crossed out with a black marker. The food tasted ok, but the fish portions were poor and expensive for what was presented. We were never asked "how our meals were" or if we wanted another drink or if we wanted to see the dessert.

As a local we would expect more and would not recommend dinning at this restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Girlon2wheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Charline Herniot, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2024

Maybe it seems to you that we were walking aimlessly but I can assure you we're not. The menu is not "very" limited it is the actual menu with 7 starters, 2 different types of salads, 3 different types of burgers, 3 different types of fish, 8 mains, 5 kids options... The only thing that was crossed off was the pork belly and therefor the pork belly burger.
What I can agree with you is that your waiter/tress should have absolutely checked on you, and ask for dessert and drinks and that is unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

Great spot in the bar people watching the busy street outside. Meals came out in good time & no complaints but the burger was pretty budget. Service was adequate, not particularly friendly & no one came to check how our meals were BUT I would return!

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank MummaandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2023

As we wandered along the shores of the Wanaka Lake on a Friday evening, it came with little surprise that most restaurants were bursting with patrons waiting to be seated with waiting times pushing beyond an hour.

Though the situation at The Speight’s was no different, we were thankful we managed to find a table after about half an hour. Given we had wandered into a pub, we decided to stick to traditional comfort pub food.

We started with a Bangers and mash (NZD 28) which arrived with 3 juicy pork sausages rested on a bed of mashed potatoes and as side of refreshing smashed mint peas. The dish was completed with a generous amount of brown onion gravy.

Complementing the mains, we ordered a side of crunchy battered onion rings (NZD 8) and Fries (NZD 5) both fried to a lovely golden brown and arrived piping hot.

Last but not least, we ordered a steaming hot Potato & leek soup (NZD 13) which was thick and rich in flavour served with a crusty slice of bread for us to dip into the soup. Perfect on a chilly winter’s day.

Not only was it a very fulfilling meal which filled out tummies, it was an extremely delicious meal and we will definitely be back hungry for more.

More photos & videos can be found on IG & Youtube (@monk3yseendo)

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank monk3yseendo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.