We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak & Fresh Veggies”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Reserve a table
Ranked #19 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $7 - $34
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 19 March 2021

Great southern food & Speights beer after a day out in the mountain air of Wanaka.
The steak was very good with crunchy veggies - Wonderful

Date of visit: March 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lathkill
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Thank you for taking to time to leave this review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 45 of 1,157 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2021 via mobile

Always try to have a meal here when we are in Wanaka as food is consistently good quality, friendly staff and good range of drinks. Couldn't fault it.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank AndyP3619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Thanks so much for your 5* review. I'm happy that we are proven to be consistent with our food and service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2021

We went to Speights because we had a discount through the motel we were staying at. We both enjoyed our meals, service was excellent on what was a busy night for them. We would certainly go back.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank murrbren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly T, General Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Luckily I have a fantastic team here who are very experienced when it comes to busy evenings! We hope to see you again, and thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021

Went as a couple for a meal, together with friends. You get value for money here with your traditional pub type meals (eg fish and chips, steak). Did not disappoint.

Date of visit: February 2021
1  Thank kpp724
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly T, Owner at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Thank you for your review, you can't go wrong with our beer battered blue cod!
Pleased to read that you and your party had a pleasant dining experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2021 via mobile

We called here three nights in a row late in the day after being out doing activities
We found we kept going back as the service was excellent and the quality of drinks was great
Really nice place and location right on the waterfront
Definitely recommend

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank KiwiDavebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Carly T, Owner at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

This is really what we aim to be; a place you'll return to time and again!
Glad you came back to see us and the service was consistently good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.