We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Spot”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Changed our plans after sitting having a drink before heading to Itillian for Lunch. We watch many meals come out and they looked awesome, we changed our dining plans and decided to stay for Lunch here in stead, much better choice. Friendly Staff happy to help. Beautiful outside dining on an awesome day

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Joe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Yes - nothing beats sitting outside on a beautiful Wanaka sunny day. We are glad you enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (933)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The Ale House has good food. Great choice of drinks. Reasonable wine list but in such an area I was disappointed they offered Australian alternatives to the NZ wine list. The staff were excellent. Great table service. Food and drinks were ordered promptly and delivered promptly despite the Ale House being quite packed and rocking.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank ntjsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our staff work very hard to ensure that service is on point.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most sensational and delicious meal here tonight. The pork belly is absolutely to die for. The sauce is yummy and the pork melts in your mouth. The garlic bread was the perfect starter with loads of garlic and cheese. Pretty good service too :) very impressed

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nurseylu367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The Pork Belly is very much a favourite on our menu as well as the cheesy garlic bread. If you come to the Wanaka Speights Ale House you definitely need to try that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location & with a good outside space in fine weather. Food was very good & service friendly, some decent beers as well. Probably best to book at busy times.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our outdoor seating is very popular in summer and you have to be quick to grab a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Wanaka for the night had to call into one of my favourite places any Speights Ale House. This time it’s in Wanaka only for a couple of cool ones, the menu looked great as always and the beer selection only the best.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Waynedvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for popping in to ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing