We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pork belly! Pork belly!!! Garlic bread! Yummyness ”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had the most sensational and delicious meal here tonight. The pork belly is absolutely to die for. The sauce is yummy and the pork melts in your mouth. The garlic bread was the perfect starter with loads of garlic and cheese. Pretty good service too :) very impressed

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank nurseylu367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The Pork Belly is very much a favourite on our menu as well as the cheesy garlic bread. If you come to the Wanaka Speights Ale House you definitely need to try that!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Nice location & with a good outside space in fine weather. Food was very good & service friendly, some decent beers as well. Probably best to book at busy times.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank PJ777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our outdoor seating is very popular in summer and you have to be quick to grab a table.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Wanaka for the night had to call into one of my favourite places any Speights Ale House. This time it’s in Wanaka only for a couple of cool ones, the menu looked great as always and the beer selection only the best.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Waynedvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for popping in to ours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here on our last night in Wanaka and and so glad we checked it out! The atmosphere and staff were amazing, surface was good, and even though it was really busy we didn’t have to wait too long for our food! A variety of on tap beer plus I had fresh pineapple juice which was delicious! The meals were huge and priced well compared to other places

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank missmollyrc0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our staff work hard to ensure quick efficient service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Wonderful staff and food was out standing. Well done crew. Meals are big but staff packed a take home bag for us. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank shazabutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our meal sizes are "generous to a fault" and glad that you appreciated that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing