We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a good feed and at a good price! ”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #24 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We had dinner here on our last night in Wanaka and and so glad we checked it out! The atmosphere and staff were amazing, surface was good, and even though it was really busy we didn’t have to wait too long for our food! A variety of on tap beer plus I had fresh pineapple juice which was delicious! The meals were huge and priced well compared to other places

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank missmollyrc0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our staff work hard to ensure quick efficient service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

11 - 15 of 934 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2018 via mobile

Wonderful staff and food was out standing. Well done crew. Meals are big but staff packed a take home bag for us. We will be back.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank shazabutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our meal sizes are "generous to a fault" and glad that you appreciated that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

Nine type of beer to choose from. All great, but we had the dark ale and summit lager. Great snacks as well.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank RSOIN52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Beer and views are what we do best in Wanaka. Glad you took the time out to appreciate them both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2018 via mobile

I am a big fan of the Speights Ale House. It always delivers high quality pub food and isn't over priced. Great place for a family meal out and you can have all kinds of speights which is great!

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank hjsgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We are proud of the high quality food we serve and at a price that is competitive with other establishments around town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2018

Very Pleasant site with small creek outside, great staff, and excellent food. Have eaten here each time we have stayed at Wanaka.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Roving49303540438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Yes, Bullock Creek certainly makes for a lovely atmosphere when dining inside or out. We are glad you visit us when ever you are in Wanaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing