We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best RIB EYE”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Very Pleasant site with small creek outside, great staff, and excellent food. Have eaten here each time we have stayed at Wanaka.

Thank Roving49303540438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (925)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 925 reviews

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We visited Speight's Ale House for an early dinner and had a nice enough meal. We ate the cheesy chips and gravy, soup of the day, catch of the day and the pork belly all of which were fairly nice although the portion sizes were far too big.

Thank AvidGlobeHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently dined at Speights Ale House and really enjoyed our experience. The food was flavorful, we ordered the fish and chips and Grandmas lamb fry, they had a huge beer and cider selection, which they offered pairings with many of the dishes, and the staff was very friendly. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice relaxing meal in Wanaka.

Thank atmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. The Lambs Fry was a great choice - def a southern taste sensation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We only wanted a light lunch. We all had the beef salad. Although it missed perfection (some avocado and roasted vegetables would be a great addition) it was extremely tasty and very enjoyable.
The menu here is as one would expect for an ale house. The service was prompt and friendly, the wine list extensive and all in all was a great place to linger

Thank Duncan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you all enjoyed the Beef Salad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Food not too bad but level of nise fromothers drinking and sitting around was very loud and hard to manage. Timber floors were lovely but did not help with noise level. Could not hear ourselves talking!

Thank eaglewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Perhaps our ample outdoor seating with beautiful views might have been a better option for you and your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing