We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food and Drinks”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I recently dined at Speights Ale House and really enjoyed our experience. The food was flavorful, we ordered the fish and chips and Grandmas lamb fry, they had a huge beer and cider selection, which they offered pairings with many of the dishes, and the staff was very friendly. We would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice relaxing meal in Wanaka.

Thank atmuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. The Lambs Fry was a great choice - def a southern taste sensation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (930)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 930 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We only wanted a light lunch. We all had the beef salad. Although it missed perfection (some avocado and roasted vegetables would be a great addition) it was extremely tasty and very enjoyable.
The menu here is as one would expect for an ale house. The service was prompt and friendly, the wine list extensive and all in all was a great place to linger

Thank DuncanH240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. We are glad you all enjoyed the Beef Salad.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Food not too bad but level of nise fromothers drinking and sitting around was very loud and hard to manage. Timber floors were lovely but did not help with noise level. Could not hear ourselves talking!

Thank eaglewhiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Perhaps our ample outdoor seating with beautiful views might have been a better option for you and your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018

A big plus for the staff on duty. They were simply great. This is a busy place and a good place to go for happy hour. The atmosphere and decor is top notch. The food however is pretty ordinary. I had a beef burger and the meat patty was that tough I only managed a few bights. I had the feeling that the patty is pre-cooked and then re-heated.
Yes, I admit I should have sent it back, but then you get that age old problem of you sitting there while your wife is eating her meal. Plus it starts to take the edge go the whole meal and the evening out.
Perhaps when one meal is sent back then they should re-do both meals but I can't see that happening.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

We apologize that you experienced a tough pattie with your burger. I understand your comments about not wanting to send it back, but really you should have done and the situation could have been rectified in a few minutes. This has been bought to the kitchen staffs attention also.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Pretty busy place for dinner. Menu selection only just enough and the food was what you would expect from a pub meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ozziemale1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing