We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK”

Speights Ale House Wanaka
Ranked #25 of 91 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$23
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Wanaka Speights Ale House is situated on Ardmore Street next to Bullock Creek and across the road from Lake Wanaka. The outdoor decks afford all day sun with a picturesque view of the lake. Indoor/Outdoor dining is available with a wide variety of gastromeals on the menu.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Pretty busy place for dinner. Menu selection only just enough and the food was what you would expect from a pub meal.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ozziemale1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

The staff is very welcoming here and the historic Wanaka decor theme throughout is really fun and engaging. We were seated in a comfy booth and not rushed in any way. We ordered the Salmon (market fish of the day) and the Beef Salad. The salmon was perfectly cooked and a huge portion (yummmmm). The beef salad was a disappointment. The greens and dressing were fresh and delicious but the beef bits were cold and very tough to eat. Perhaps it was not what I expected. Overall the large restaurant is fun and filled with character.

Thank AubreyHord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Your concerns over the Beef have been raised with the Kitchen staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2018 via mobile

Great location, indoor/outdoor seating and a fun staff make for a food option for couples and families alike.

As expected, they have a healthy beer and wine list. Jump on in!

For food, I had the salmon special. It was quite delicious. There was also the expected pub offerings.

Thank GZPCManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

As you alluded too - our indoor and outdoor seating areas make it great for couples and families. Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018 via mobile

We came here in the afternoon for some drinks. We sat outside, which is a nice place to sit if you want good views of the mountains and stream. However, there were a few people smoking outside. The service is relatively quick and the staff are helpful. There was a wide range of food, mostly bar food but also a few international dishes as well.

Thank ec2005297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thanks for your comments. Our outdoor area affords great views and in summer it can be very difficult to nab a spot to sit back and enjoy them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

Went for dinner on recommendation of where we stayed and they were not wrong. Good friendly service, great range of beers and good food. I had the liver and onions, my wife the special of the day chicken and mushroom pie both of which we enjoyed.

Thank sandgrown_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte k, Public Relations Manager at Speights Ale House Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Great to hear you were recommended to visit our place and that you were not let down! Thanks for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Speights Ale House Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Speights Ale House Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing