We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dream64924072654

Kiwi WOW

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 13 Feb 2024
We have traveled all over the world and have had many life changing experiences. We consider ourselves fortunate and grateful travelers. We are not jaded but also not easily surprised nor overwhelmed by experiences. That said, Minaret Station stands as one of the finest, most hospitable stays of our lives. The crew phenomenal. The food, almost beyond belief. And the experiences offered and natural remote surroundings, a healing balm for body and soul. It is not accessible to everyone due to cost and remoteness, but if looking for what may be one of the great world class experiences, without the fussy, high end hotel environment, this place is a stunner. When we left after three days my wife was in tears over how moved she was, and Minaret has boiled the essence of New Zealand care of the land and generosity to a finely tuned edge. Truly words fail, and are at best a rough approximation of impact, but if you can afford it, and take advantage of its spectacular outings, you will not be disappointed. The place is a marvel. As proof of their consistency, and having stayed at many world class lodges, I have never seen a “guest book” filled with so many lengthy multi page testimonials, poems, drawings, paintings and expressions of gratitude. It’s an extraordinary culture that has been created. We consider ourselves deeply fortunate to have stayed and will carry the people, landscape and animals in our memories for the rest of our lives.
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: A perfect second day of excursions following something spectacular like The Fiordland Experience...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Hotels.com
32.9 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free parking
Restaurant
Location, location, location
  • Expedia.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Hotels.com
33.6 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $318
  • Hotels.com
35.2 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
33.7 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $228
  • Hotels.com
33.5 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $203
  • Hotels.com
33.5 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Booking.com
33.6 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $172
  • Hotels.com
33.6 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $143
  • Hotels.com
52.3 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $167
  • Booking.com
35.5 km from Minaret Station Alpine Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
25
1
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
25
1
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chef ivan helicopter transfer three nights pilot fiordland comfort mountains nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2023 via mobile

We absolutely loved our stay here. The staff was among the most friendly, helpful and knowledgeable of all our travels in NZ. The location is remote and stunning, allowing for a completely relaxing experience. And Chef Ivan’s food left you smiling and full at every meal, ready for whatever adventure the day brings. We highly recommend a stay for anyone seeking a unique experience in NZ nature with all of the luxurious creatures comforts you could dream of.

Room tip: By nature, this is a remote location. We absolutely loved that aspect but travelers should know you are truly immersed in this special spot.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank JShall2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2023 via mobile

An amazing place in an amazing location. 0ur family of five with teenage kids stayed for three nights and loved it.

The helicopter transfer in is stunning. Great service on arrival meeting us at Queenstown airport and taking us around to the helicopter terminal.

The individual lodges are excellent. We loved the hot tub and used it a couple of times a day. Very comfortable beds.

The food was superb at every meal and chef Ivan was a wizard. The included wines were also very good with the Valli Pinot Noir our favourite.

We walked to both of the waterfalls and had a great time and had it all to ourselves.

We did the Fiordland Heli Traverse. It’s not cheap but it was an amazing day. We landed high up in the mountains by a lake and saw a Kea. The highlight was probably the helicopter picking up the lobster pot from the sea and returning with a dozen lobsters and an eel. Quite spectacular.

Room tip: Beware sandflies and apply the bug spray.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LuuuuvMyHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 December 2022

Experiences: The helicopter experience we had was too long. Less is more. Great pilots and guide but the long helicopter rides were painful. We flew to Dusky Sound on one day and decided to cancel the Mount Cook experience another day. Yes it was non-refundable.
Food: They had limited ability to cater to food requirements outside of menu. We needed some food catered to children.
Accommodation: the lodge is good but it’s a mountain lodge not a luxury lodge.

Room tip: There are very long helicopter rides for some experiences. For us it was too long.
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2022

We travelled for the Mountain Kitchen lunch - wow, what a spectacular treat. From the super professional helicopter flight and commentary to the the stunning service and food. Minaret, you are total class in a low key way but where every need is catered for. We didn't want to leave - thank you for the spectacular treat and being everything and more than we could have anticipated.

Date of stay: March 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mareec21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2019

We stayed for three nights at the Minaret station during our travels in New Zealand. The location, scenery, accommodations and service are exemplary and one of a kind. The helicopter rides and outings are out of this world and you can't but be amazed at the talents of the helicopter pilots (we had Steve), the chef Ivan, the greeters Catherine and Toby and the guide Scottie. All the tourists that had the privilege of staying at this extra-ordinary lodge should be thankful for the Wallis family who took time, pains and risks involved in starting and running this lodge. If your budget allows, please stay at the Minaret Station. What a place!

Room tip: The lodge only has four chalets and all have excellent views.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank rmjager
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
MinaretStation, General Manager at Minaret Station Alpine Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2019

Thank you so much for staying with us and your generous review of your stay at Minaret Station. We are privileged to be able to work in such a special place and share it with our guests from around the world.
Many thanks and we hope to see you back again some day.
Regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews