We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST BEST BEST”
Review of Francesca Wanaka

Francesca Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Well travelled Italian. Wood fired pizzas and house-made pastas inspired by the Italian's who broke their mothers hearts and left home looking for adventure.
Reviewed 16 May 2024 via mobile

Hands down the best Italian food we have ever had! Great atmosphere and wonderful service! Highly recommend! Will return again one day.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Danielle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,661)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 1,662 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2024

Delicious food, lovely drinks and great friendly service from staff who were very sweet to and accommodating of one very hangry 10mo boy.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wanderingkiwi77
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 April 2024

This is a very busy restaurant, and you usually have to book in advance. The restaurant itself is pleasant but it can get very noisy. Two of our group of 4 ordered the pizzas which were a good size and were enjoyed. However, I ordered a mushroom pasta dish which was a complete let down. At $38 I was expecting something special. Instead, I was presented with a plate of almost dry pasta, very few mushrooms and hardly any sauce. It was only luke warm and having eaten a mouthful didn't want any more. I spoke to our server who agreed to change it for the ragu pasta dish. This was pleasant enough but certainly didn't warrant the price tag of $40. When we came to pay the bill, I was overcharged for my gin. The menu said one price and the till charged another. They did refund me when I pointed this out. It was a disappointing experience as our friends had never dined here before and we wanted it to be an enjoyable evening.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kiwianatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 April 2024

I was hesitant to go with some of the recent bad reviews. I don't know if they are confused with some other restaurant, but this one was an absolute home run.

I had the Gnocchi with braised beef, and I can honestly say it was one of the best Italian dishes I have ever had (and I have eaten a lot of them, haha). My wife's dish was also excellent.

I suppose it was a little drafty and a smidge pretentious vis-a-vis other NZ restaurants, but I stand by my review: excellent food (which is what I care about at a restaurant).

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024

As a family group attending Warbirds Over Wanaka we found Francescas over priced and very under whelming with an average menu. However to be fair staff were very attentive and polite.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Francesca Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.