We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian”
Review of Francesca Wanaka

Francesca Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 95 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Well travelled Italian. Wood fired pizzas and house-made pastas inspired by the Italian's who broke their mothers hearts and left home looking for adventure.
Reviewed 11 February 2024

Wow
We were looking forward to a nice Italian meal but hadn't expected to find some of the best Italian food that we have ever eaten in Wanaka.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 428grantd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2024 via mobile

The service was poor. We saw people arrive after us get their orders taken, drinks delivered and food served before we’d even had our order taken. We got a bottle of water but no glasses, had to remind them about the salad we ordered when our pizzas were served, and the pizzas were lukewarm. Wouldn’t recommend it.

Date of visit: January 2024
1  Thank edm1887
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 January 2024

💯 amazing food and staff. The oxtail pasta was just like Nonna used to make. Loved all the food we tried. Delicious. Thank you.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Xeniamarcroft55
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 January 2024 via mobile

We were only staying in Wanaka for one night and craved Italian food. This restaurant did not disappoint. Everything was fabulous. Great service, delicious food and great music. Would highly recommend

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Gill_Stott8
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 January 2024

A beautiful restaurant with delicious though very expensive food. We had a great meal that was sadly ruined by one incredibly rude staff member. It was so atypical of anything we experienced in all of New Zealand that it sadly has to reflect on this restaurant. A word to those who book (and to the management) - staff at Fracesca's can make a great meal taste bad. We came with family for a final meal in New Zealand and we had a reservation. Service was very slow and it took time for the orders to be placed, drinks to arrive, dinner to be served and then dessert. As we were finishing up our dessert, the manager unceremoniously slapped the bill on our table and said "I need your table." It was 7:15pm. We had been actively ordering, then drinking and eating the entire time. We were not lingering idly - our dessert was still on the table! Any amount of time we had been there - 100% driven by when the staff arrived to take orders, bring drinks and food. When I said something to him on our way out, the manager was offensive and obnoxious. Again - so unlike anything we had experienced in NZ.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Welovetheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Francesca Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.