We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian - always good!”
Review of Francesca Wanaka

Francesca Wanaka
Ranked #14 of 94 Restaurants in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Well travelled Italian. Wood fired pizzas and house-made pastas inspired by the Italian's who broke their mothers hearts and left home looking for adventure.
Reviewed 29 August 2020 via mobile

This is one of the best options in wanaka. Beautiful Italian - great dishes, lovely quality ingredients and warm friendly service. The bombardino warm cocktail and tiramisu and beautiful salad and pasta are highly recommended. We have been here quite a few times and it is always excellent! Need to book as it is very popular.

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Desiree B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2020

Thank you for dining with us again on your stay in Wanaka. We love the Bombardino cocktail, it really hits the spot on a cold winter night. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (1,657)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 118 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2020

We had the most wonderful dinner here in a glasshouse for two. Starters and mains were delicious and the service was lovely and friendly. A real treat!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank saralA2967FW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for reviewing you recent visit to us. Great to see how much you enjoyed our fabulous greenhouse, we think its the perfect private dinner experience for two.

Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2020

Friday night dinner at Francesca's in late July. We'd made a reservation online and, knowing from previous visits how busy it could get, called ahead to say we'd be turning up about 20 minutes late. Fortunately, this was no problem.

We went straight to the main course on arrival - ordering two different vegetarian pizzas (Margherita and Zucca), a Kale salad and some sparkling water. One pizza promptly arrived however, after waiting a few minutes, we queried the whereabouts of the other pizza. The very apologetic waitperson confessed she'd mistakenly entered our choices as one half/half pizza but she would get the second pizza on the go immediately. We were in no rush, so this wasn't an issue for us - the second pizza arrived less than 10 minutes later. Both pizzas were excellent.

When given the bill, we noticed only one pizza listed. We thought this was a mistake, however the waitperson and manager (we think) said the second pizza was on the house due to the inconvenience caused by the order mix-up. We thought this (lovely) gesture was absolutely above and beyond, however also felt it was disproportionately in our favour. We offered to pay full price, however they wouldn't have a bar of it, saying "that's not our standard". In the end, they reluctantly accepted a small tip.

We already had a very high opinion of Francesca's, however this most recent experience reinforced that.

Date of visit: July 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rundlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2020

Thank you for dining with us and taking the time to write this glowing review. We really appreciate that you understood the mistake we made when taking your order and that it didn't effect your experience.
We hope to see you again soon at Francesca's for more delicious pizza!

Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2020

We went with a large group and had a delicious dinner. My very fussy boyfriend definitely enjoyed the pepperoni pizza and beef cheek gnocchi. The pizza dough was perfect. Wine was yummy too. They provided a high chair for my friend's son. Food came out promptly. Would definitely go again!

Date of visit: August 2020
Thank Bryony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you leaving us a fabulous review. We like to think we have something for everyone and can accommodate everyone's dietary requirements.
Don't forget to check out our cookbook for some of the recipes you tried, the Beef Cheeks Gnocchi can be created in your own kitchen!
See you next time.
Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2020 via mobile

I’m am still yet to find an Italian restaurant to match. Christchurch and Wanaka restaurants are both top notch. I look forward to one opening in Hawkes Bay

Date of visit: August 2020
1  Thank CathyS2894
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FIKWanaka, Manager at Francesca Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2020

Thank you so much Cathy, we're pleased to be one of your favourites!

Grazie Mille

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Francesca Wanaka also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Francesca Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.