We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
431
136
40
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
431
136
40
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crown range iconic hotel garden bar great beer garden outdoor fire charming hotel beef wellington hot tub stayed one night great spot south island fires cardrona queenstown arrowtown distillery nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently renewed our wedding vowels with a private function at the Cardrona Hotel. Dean and his team went over and above to accommodate us and make us feel truly welcome and looked after. Nothing was too much trouble. Thank you for making our stay so special. I highly recommend the Cardrona Hotel on all levels, accommodation, food, location, service and ambiance. An iconic pub that lives up to and exceeds all expectations.

Room tip: the Villa was awesome
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 941tarau
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are so very pleased you had a special time with us renewing your vows! Thank you for choosing us, we hope to host you again some time in the future :)
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2022

Delicious and well-presented food, though rather small servings, knowledgeable and attentive staff, cosy atmosphere. Lovely on a winter's night.
Comfortable seating, well-spaced tables. Staff all wore Covid masks.
Clean, yet rustic interior.
Didn't visitthe accommodation.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aulestes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2022

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are so pleased you enjoyed your visit with us, and enjoyed your meals. Perhaps you ordered from our a la carte evening menu? For the most part our bar meal portion servings are actually rather sizeable! We are very pleased you had a comfortable visit and would love to host you again in future!
All the very best from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2022

Cozily comfortable... so unlike most corporate scaled/regimented accomodation venues, the Cardrona was a joy to experience. The buildings reeked with historic charm and the staff were genuinely pleasant and accomodating. Such a welcome change from the often characterless hotels/motels that are the norm. I would thoroughly recommend the Cardrona to anyone visiting the area.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VivGeoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2022

Thank you very much for this lovely review. We are so pleased you had a cozy and character-filled experience with us!
We do hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the future.
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2022

Had previously stopped for lunch but wanted to stay a night to really soak in the iconic history. Was clean, friendly and warm but food was not up to scratch, understandable in these Covid times but marred the whole experience. Most disappointed with the ticking hot water pipe in room 10, signposted as the resident “ghost” and explained as part of the atmosphere but if you are a light sleeper make sure you specify when booking not to be put in room 10 or any other room with atmosphere. Was pleasantly surprised that crowd noise quietened down early evening.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank MidnightAngelNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2022

Hi there,

Thank you so very much for deciding to stay with us, it was our pleasure to host you!
We are very saddened to hear you thought our food was not up to scratch, and invite you to send more specific feedback to us directly if you would like. Our food menu has had to be reduced lately due to short staffing as a side effect of covid, however, our ingredients continue to be local, fresh and where possible, organic.
We are pleased you had a warm and friendly stay, and hope to see you again some time!
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2022 via mobile

What a lovely place! Awesome accommodation, awesome atmosphere, great food at the restaurant! One stop shop. Just a fabulous place. Would love to be there in the winter with the snow around as well! Inside fire, outside fire. Beautiful gardens.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BarbaraC608
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2022

Thank you for this lovely review!
We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay so much - perhaps we will see you next time in the winter!?
All the very best from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews