We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$157
View deal
Expedia.comUS$156
Hotels.comUS$156
PricelineUS$157
TravelocityUS$156
eDreamsUS$157
Agoda.comUS$156
View all 13 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (637)
Filter reviews
637 results
Traveller rating
441
136
41
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
136
41
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews crown range iconic hotel garden bar great beer garden outdoor fire charming hotel beef wellington hot tub stayed one night great spot south island fires cardrona queenstown arrowtown distillery nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 637 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2022

From reception to leaving our experience was a good one. The young staff were welcoming and while busy [a few signs around the hotel explaing summer staff shortages] they still managed to be attentive and friendly. Not the least expensive of sites we stayed at during our south island tour but well worth the experience and we would recommend Cardrona to anyone want a comfortable, friendly stay. Wouldnt have missed this for the world.

Date of stay: January 2022
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RelicRydes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2022

Thank you for this kind review, we are very pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for appreciating the hard work of our staff at this time, it means the world to us!
We hope to see you again some time soon :)
Very best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2022

I've dropped in for a drink here several times and always wanted to stay, so I finally got around to doing so just before Christmas. Stayed in a Twin Queen Room which was extremely good value for money (not sure if they have lower rates currently due to Covid). I can barely fault the room, it was spotlessly clean and in very good nick. The only negative was the TV which was from the early 90's, but I believe the upgraded rooms have newer TV's.

The pub was its normal historic self and the gardens out back are beautifully maintained. My friend and I often commented how good it would be to hire out for a significant birthday or wedding. The menu choice was limited, but did the trick as I imagine most people only stay a night or two.

The only problem we had was on our second night when we came out for dinner a little before 8:00pm and were told the pub was closed! Nobody had mentioned closing hours to us during our stay so we went to bed hungry that night. Luckily we had a bottle of wine from the vineyards to keep us watered :-) There was no manual in our room with hours which could have avoided that problem, and that actually would have been most useful to us as we also wanted info on the distillery and local walks etc too.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BowlsTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us this review!
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and stay! We are certainly aware of the TV situation, we have had plans to upgrade these for a while, which have just been a bit slowed down due to the COVID situation. We agree - we have hosted some pretty epic parties and weddings here over the years!
I am so sorry to hear about you missing out on dinner! This should not have happened - we do always advise guests to make a booking in advance for dinner (especially these days with such unpredictable traffic flow down our way) - this way we are aware of any guests expecting dinner on a given night - we are so sorry if this was not communicated to you, it would have been included in your welcome emails, however, staff should also have communicated this. We are experiencing staff shortages at the moment and trying to navigate this as best we can - but do always intend to provide the best of service!

We will take on board all your comments, and perhaps we will see you back for your next significant birthday??

Very best wishes from us for the year ahead!

CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2022 via mobile

Lovely old hotel, amazing staff and wicked food. Our room didn’t have a bar fridge but staff quickly organised a bag of ice for our esky. Special thanks to Chris who made sure our stay was memorable. Beautiful gardens and even a hot tub for guests.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 121donnab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2022

Thank you for this review Donna,
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to pass on your special thanks to Chris!
Very best wishes from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2022

We stayed at the Cardrona Hotel for 2 nights over Christmas. Our room was large, well appointed and looked out onto the beautiful gardens outside. Beds were large and comfortable. Our Christmas lunch was delicious. The Cardrona hotel has lots of quaint touches that make it special - well tended gardens to enjoy a drink, a spa outside for guests, playground for kids, an outdoor fireplace and a sweet little gift shop nearby. It makes it the perfect place to rest and relax. But like everything in hospitality what makes the difference is the staff - the team at Cardrona were fantastic. From the friendly woman who took my booking, to the housekeeper who did a lovely job servicing our room to the bar staff who still had a smile on their dial in the evening after a hectic Christmas day, we thought they bent over backwards for us. Thanks for making our Christmas a bit special - we really needed it after last year. Look forward to staying with you again.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 136shaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2022

Thank you very much for this absolutely lovely review.
We are so thrilled that we were able to provide you with a very special Christmas experience, especially after a tough year had! We appreciate you choosing to stay with us, and we hope to be able to host you again some time.
All the very best from us for the new year,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2021 via mobile

Its always a pleasure to visit this place and chill out with some local works and get away from the crowds.
Rooms are comfortable and clean and being able to stay in a pub with open fire and gardens a treat.
Service was exceptional this time.
Food was good although disappointing no full breakfast was available when we visited at christchurch.
Veal was very tasty and steak was good, but not sure about the fried potato slices served as a blob lot on the plate.

Room tip: gets busy in pub so be prepared
Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank macfod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2022

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review. We very much appreciate you choosing to stay with us and are so pleased that you had a great stay! We do apologise regarding the lack of full breakfast during your stay; at the moment due to staff shortages and the unpredictability of visitor numbers during this COVID mayhem, we are offering continental breakfasts to all house guests. We do try to offer our full cooked breakfasts where possible, depending on staff availability. We are so sorry that this has affected you during your stay.
We look forward to seeing you next time!
All the very best from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews