We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.comUS$92
Hotels.comUS$92
PricelineUS$92
CheapTicketsUS$92
eDreamsUS$92
TravelocityUS$92
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (606)
Filter reviews
606 results
Traveller rating
417
131
39
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
417
131
39
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range outdoor fire beef wellington french doors new zealand hot tub stayed two nights great spot ski fields scones south island fires cardrona queenstown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 606 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2021 via mobile

Fabulous hotel/restaurant awesome ambiance.
Food selection is good and generous. I had southern fried chicken and it was succulent.
One gripe- order taken at table and before my meal had arrived or before I could order a drink etc the waitress came over and wanted me to pay. WTF is up with that, so annoyed it left bad taste.very rude.

Date of stay: October 2021
1  Thank carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2021

Hi Carol,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We are so pleased you had an ambient experience and loved the fried chicken!
Our normal procedure with ordering daytime food and drinks is for all orders to be taken and paid for at the bar, before then finding your seat. We have had to change a few processes in the short term to ensure we are complying with current covid level 2 restrictions, where patrons are expected to stay separate and seated. We are trying to navigate a difficult time and in no way mean to be rude we promise!
We really appreciate you visiting us,
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Outstanding!
Great service! We booked dinner for my Partners birthday, just as lockdown was announced and despite the team being snowed under with guests and diners, Elaine remembered us and made sure we were looked after. We had Ribeeye steak and the Beef Wellington - 5*. Seriously delicious! We were attended to by 3 very professional and friendly waiters. The bar staff were great too. We hope to stay there as guests someday! Great work Team! We'll be back!

Date of stay: August 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LycanThropeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2021

Thank you so much for this wonderful review!
We are overjoyed that you were pleased with our service, and very much appreciate your acknowledgement of the stress a lockdown announcement puts us under as a business. We are so pleased we were able to provide a nice birthday dinner for you all the same!
We would absolutely love to host you as an overnight guest sometime in the future.
We hope you are safe and sound with your family in the current lockdown circumstances.
All the very best from us, and see you next time,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I stayed at Cardrona hotel for 4 days. I have visited the restaurant in the summer before and always wanted to stay a winter. It was just a perfect place to explore ski fields around Wanaka. The rooms are simple but have character, the beds are super comfortable and the staff are lovely. There is an outdoor hot tup where you can take a drink to and relax your legs after a day on the slopes. It is definitely the place to be for Apres drinks and snacks. I was a bit worried that it would be a noisy location to get some rest but it quietens after 9 pm. I would recommend the rooms on the higher level that said I don't think you can really go wrong in this quaint setting.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapnaD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you so much for this delightful review.
We are so pleased you had a great stay with us, and were able to do some exploring around our area!
Until next time!
Best wishes from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Very nice, atmospheric place, room small but comfortable and clean. Would have been amazing if we had snow, but not to be. Pub very busy, but once the day trippers left it was peaceful. Food was great and not too expensive. Definitely recommend a visit.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide48927408809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review.
We wish it would snow down to our level more often as well - it's certainly very special when it does though!
We are so very pleased that you had a great stay, and very much appreciate your recommendation :)
Very best of wishes from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

We came down for work as well as a little holiday while we were there. We went skiing for the day at Cardrona and had a great day. We stayed for 1 night at Cardrona Hotel and had a lovely stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was great. They even have an outside hot tub which we took advantage of when we arrived. We stayed in the Captains room which was a great size, the ensuite was very big, a great size.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 317AlastairM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Hi Alastair,
Thank you for this kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed a wonderful stay in our Captains room. You can't beat a ski day followed by a hot tub at this time of year!
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews