We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$124
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$124
View deal
Expedia.comUS$123
PricelineUS$124
CheapTicketsUS$123
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (600)
Filter reviews
600 results
Traveller rating
412
130
39
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
412
130
39
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington lovely garden new zealand stayed two nights hot tub great spot south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 600 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2021

I stayed at Cardrona hotel for 4 days. I have visited the restaurant in the summer before and always wanted to stay a winter. It was just a perfect place to explore ski fields around Wanaka. The rooms are simple but have character, the beds are super comfortable and the staff are lovely. There is an outdoor hot tup where you can take a drink to and relax your legs after a day on the slopes. It is definitely the place to be for Apres drinks and snacks. I was a bit worried that it would be a noisy location to get some rest but it quietens after 9 pm. I would recommend the rooms on the higher level that said I don't think you can really go wrong in this quaint setting.

Date of stay: July 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SapnaD17
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2021

Thank you so much for this delightful review.
We are so pleased you had a great stay with us, and were able to do some exploring around our area!
Until next time!
Best wishes from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2021 via mobile

Very nice, atmospheric place, room small but comfortable and clean. Would have been amazing if we had snow, but not to be. Pub very busy, but once the day trippers left it was peaceful. Food was great and not too expensive. Definitely recommend a visit.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide48927408809
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2021

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave this review.
We wish it would snow down to our level more often as well - it's certainly very special when it does though!
We are so very pleased that you had a great stay, and very much appreciate your recommendation :)
Very best of wishes from us,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2021 via mobile

We came down for work as well as a little holiday while we were there. We went skiing for the day at Cardrona and had a great day. We stayed for 1 night at Cardrona Hotel and had a lovely stay. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the food was great. They even have an outside hot tub which we took advantage of when we arrived. We stayed in the Captains room which was a great size, the ensuite was very big, a great size.

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 317AlastairM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2021

Hi Alastair,
Thank you for this kind review.
We are so pleased you enjoyed a wonderful stay in our Captains room. You can't beat a ski day followed by a hot tub at this time of year!
Thank you so much for choosing to stay with us.
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2021

We had 2 nights here waiting for snow, which eventually came and closed the road!
Lovely place to be stranded though, cosy roaring fires, friendly and welcoming staff, delicious food.
Comfy room with French doors looking onto large garden with outdoor fireplace and glass houses for winter shelter .
Breakfast and dinner beautifully presented and tasted great.
Good local wine list.
Riverside walk to the distillery and whisky/ gin tasting.

Date of stay: June 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Ruth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2021

Hi Ruth,

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review, we are very pleased you enjoyed a cosy stay with us.
A very nice bonus that the snow arrived for you, it's just beautiful here at the moment!
All the very best,

CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2021

Lovely welcoming staff; warm, clean and comfortable room opening onto garden, delicious food and one of the most iconic pubs in NZ. We will definitely be back. Would be the perfect spot to stay and relax after a day skiing. Make sure you walk the back road to the Cardrona distillery so you can both enjoy the whisky.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kyliek788
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2021

Hi Kylie,

Thank you so much for this lovely review? We look forward to hosting you again (perhaps in ski season - as you are right, there is nothing like a post-ski mulled wine by the fire!)

All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews