We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$149
View deal
Expedia.comUS$149
PricelineUS$149
Hotels.comUS$149
CheapTicketsUS$149
eDreamsUS$149
TravelocityUS$149
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (595)
Filter reviews
595 results
Traveller rating
407
130
39
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
407
130
39
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington lovely garden new zealand stayed two nights hot tub great spot south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 595 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2021

We stayed here for one night and it exceeded expectations. The rooms were warm, clean and well equipped and the staff were very friendly. We sat outside in the beautiful gardens to have a drink in the late afternoon. The grounds are very well maintained and there was plenty of seating. We had both dinner and breakfast here and both were delicious and did not disappoint. The pub is just awesome with a great ambience. The roaring fires made it so cosy. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: April 2021
Thank Rebecca812014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2021

Hi Rebecca,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this review.
We are thrilled that you had such a wonderful, cosy time!
We are so pleased you chose to stay with us, and we hope to see you again some time :)

All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2021

Staying here was one of the highlights of my recent trip. The staff are so welcoming and the building itself is fabulous - open fires with comfy couches, the smell of woodsmoke and historical artifacts all around, you get a real sense of history here. My room was fabulous, with French doors out onto a beautiful garden with an open fire and historic outbuildings. The room itself was extremely comfortable and it had the most beautiful scent - I'd love to know what it was. Dinner was amazing - one of the nicest burgers I've ever had, and fantastic wine too, with great service. Breakfast also great - so nice that a place offers a simple breakfast for a low price - toasted ciabatta and jam for just $8 that you can have by the fire - brilliant! I can't wait to come and stay here again, thank you for a fabulous experience.

Room tip: The rooms with the French doors are lovely and give acces to the pretty garden
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2021

Hi Sarah,

Thank you so much for these lovely words - it sounds like you had a wonderful stay and we are thrilled about that, it really makes our day to hear that we have played a part in creating a memorable experience for our patrons and guests. I'm not sure I can put my finger on the room smell, but we do have a signature Cardrona Hotel Candle which we burn about the place in the hotel and gift shop - this could be part of it!

All the very best Sarah - we hope to see you again in the future,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2021

We had a very enjoyable two night stay at the Cardrona Hotel. We felt as if we were transported back to the mid 1800s. The rooms were small but rustic, cozy and warm. Check in was a little confusing as we entered through the bar but staff were great and very helpful.
No luxury but everything you would expect from a room like this. The restaurant is great for breakfast and dinner and is located just next door. we enjoyed a glass of wine at the outdoor fire place in the evening, highly recommended. The hotel is in a great spot for day trips to Arrowtown or wanaka.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank overc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2021

Thank you for this really lovely review. We are so very pleased you had a wonderful stay, and also enjoyed the restaurant/bar offerings.
We hope to see you again some time in the future :)
All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2021

it has everything you need for a great stay, food, beer, wine, garden bar, will say here again, we had a great time here, rooms were clean & tidy, just across the road from Cardona Distillery, well worth doing their tour and sampling their fine sprits

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank WSP9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi,

Thank you for this lovely review!
We are very pleased you had a great stay with us, and we agree, Cardrona Distillery is definitely another great spot in the Cardrona Valley!
Warmest of wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2021

But worth it!...Iconic hotel between Wanaka & Q/town...We had the Capt's Room.
Lovely big comfy bed,great bathroom and quiet.
Excellent service and atmosphere,well groomed gardens and a big open backlawn to take the stiffness out of your legs if travelling.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PHIL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2021

Hi Phil,

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to leave this review. We are so very pleased you enjoyed your stay in our lush Captain's room!
We hope to see you again some time.
Happy Easter!
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews