We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Booking.comUS$72
Priceline
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
403
130
39
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
130
39
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington lovely garden new zealand stayed two nights hot tub south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 7 March 2021 via mobile

Good place to visit in a picturesque setting, olde world style historical pub serving good selection of beers and good selection on the menu served by pleasant people.
Well worth a visit even if only sightseeing

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank PeterB11369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2021

Hi Peter,

Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you enjoyed our setting and offerings.

Have a wonderful week!

CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

After a few car issues coming up the crown range, we stopped by this wee gem! Firstly I noticed how beautiful the pub was indoor and then was COMPLETELY blown away by how great the staff were. There was a older guy with a beard, younger lady and a nice younger guy. This made me want to stay for a beer so we went outside and the out door area was the most amazing outdoor area I've seen at a bar. 11/10 from me!!!

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank KuchiMcMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2021

Thank you for this lovely review.
We are so very pleased that you had a wonderful time with us - we are lucky to have a pretty stellar bar team!
Hope to see you in the garden bar again some time!
Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2021 via mobile

Stopped in here for breakfast on my way from Queenstown to Wanaka. It was a lovely place to stop as it’s an iconic landmark in the south. Cosy atmosphere inside with the fire lit.
Recommend stopping in for a visit.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank sarahu1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Thank you for your review Sarah,
We are so pleased you stopped by and enjoyed the atmosphere!

All the very best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

We stopped off to see the history of this hotel and sample the vegan noodle bowl on the menu.
We waited 45 minutes for our food which was only average. We ate because we were hungry rather than because it was tasty. Very little vegetables but tonnes of noodles.
Was disappointing. My daughters felt that little effort had been made in making this dish. The tofu was way too salty.
Wouldn’t eat here again but would stop in for a drink.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank travelavecmonamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Unfortunately due to our capacity versus small kitchen we do often have a wait for food when we are busy, however I do hope this was conveyed to you at the time, as we make a big effort to make people aware of food wait times.
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the noodle bowl as much as you'd hoped, we usually have extremely good feedback regarding our food so we are disappointed to hear this.
We do hope you will stop in another time and give our food another try!

All the best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021

We stayed one night at the Cardrona Hotel. The hotel is an awesome place - retaining its old fashioned charm while having modern facilities and amenities. We stayed in a queen room facing the garden bar. A very comfortable room with excellent facilities. Our dinner in the restaurant was amazing, as was our breakfast. The staff were so very helpful and courteous. The atmosphere in the bar was super inviting and relaxing - we played cards in front of the fire while having some drinks.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leki9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021

Thank you for this lovely review, sounds like you had a relaxing time, which we always love to hear about!

All the best and hope to see you again,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews