We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 25/04/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$72
View deal
Free cancellation until 24/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
Agoda.comUS$72
Expedia.comUS$72
View all 16 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (591)
Filter reviews
591 results
Traveller rating
403
130
39
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
403
130
39
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington lovely garden new zealand stayed two nights hot tub south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 591 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2021 via mobile

We stopped off to see the history of this hotel and sample the vegan noodle bowl on the menu.
We waited 45 minutes for our food which was only average. We ate because we were hungry rather than because it was tasty. Very little vegetables but tonnes of noodles.
Was disappointing. My daughters felt that little effort had been made in making this dish. The tofu was way too salty.
Wouldn’t eat here again but would stop in for a drink.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank travelavecmonamour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2021

Hi There,
Thank you for taking the time to leave this review.
Unfortunately due to our capacity versus small kitchen we do often have a wait for food when we are busy, however I do hope this was conveyed to you at the time, as we make a big effort to make people aware of food wait times.
We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy the noodle bowl as much as you'd hoped, we usually have extremely good feedback regarding our food so we are disappointed to hear this.
We do hope you will stop in another time and give our food another try!

All the best,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2021

We stayed one night at the Cardrona Hotel. The hotel is an awesome place - retaining its old fashioned charm while having modern facilities and amenities. We stayed in a queen room facing the garden bar. A very comfortable room with excellent facilities. Our dinner in the restaurant was amazing, as was our breakfast. The staff were so very helpful and courteous. The atmosphere in the bar was super inviting and relaxing - we played cards in front of the fire while having some drinks.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leki9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2021

Thank you for this lovely review, sounds like you had a relaxing time, which we always love to hear about!

All the best and hope to see you again,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2021 via mobile

We stopped off at the Cardrona Hotel recently and it was great to see it is still a great place to visit.

When you’ve driven over the Crown Range on a wet day, having a cup of coffee in a couch in front of one of its open fires is still one of the beat places to be (even in January!). Their cheese and bacon scones are excellent. Next time I just want to make sure I stay for the night.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank kestonr2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2021

Thank you for paying us a visit!

Have a wonderful summer, we will see you again sometime, it would be our pleasure to host you for a night!

Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Nice welcome on arrival by young lady from Arizona -thanks. Good room with two queen.beds and all usual amenities - was good to see no plastic for shampoo etc. Spent evening out in back garden which was lovely. Had food which was good. Probably only negative was one waitress who was unfriendly and curt. In morning had a lovely cheese scone and coffee again outside. Really nice visit again. Highly recommended

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2021

Thank you so very much for your review Mechelle.

We appreciate you noticing our efforts with regard to being as planet friendly as possible with our choice of toiletries, we try very hard across the board in the hotel, restaurant and shop to reduce our plastic waste!
We do apologise for any hint of unfriendly service, this certainly does not reflect our usual standard, and was we are sure a blip at a very busy time of year.
Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2020

A well worth stop in this little town. The Cardrona hotel not only retains its period charm but also provides the modern amenities to ensure your stay is as comfortable as it can be. The restaurant serves delicious dinner, breakfast and good coffee too. The surrounding is so quiet at night, you can be sure to enjoy a good night sleep.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianaW1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2020

Hi Diana,

Thank you for you lovely review.
We are so glad you had a great stay and a peaceful night's sleep - this is something we really love about our location in the valley, being surrounded by only the mountains at night!
We hope you have a wonderful festive season.

Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews