We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
398
128
37
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
128
37
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington open fireplace lovely garden new zealand hot tub stayed two nights south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Nice welcome on arrival by young lady from Arizona -thanks. Good room with two queen.beds and all usual amenities - was good to see no plastic for shampoo etc. Spent evening out in back garden which was lovely. Had food which was good. Probably only negative was one waitress who was unfriendly and curt. In morning had a lovely cheese scone and coffee again outside. Really nice visit again. Highly recommended

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mechelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you so very much for your review Mechelle.

We appreciate you noticing our efforts with regard to being as planet friendly as possible with our choice of toiletries, we try very hard across the board in the hotel, restaurant and shop to reduce our plastic waste!
We do apologise for any hint of unfriendly service, this certainly does not reflect our usual standard, and was we are sure a blip at a very busy time of year.
Thank you for your recommendation, we hope to see you again soon!

Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A well worth stop in this little town. The Cardrona hotel not only retains its period charm but also provides the modern amenities to ensure your stay is as comfortable as it can be. The restaurant serves delicious dinner, breakfast and good coffee too. The surrounding is so quiet at night, you can be sure to enjoy a good night sleep.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DianaW1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Diana,

Thank you for you lovely review.
We are so glad you had a great stay and a peaceful night's sleep - this is something we really love about our location in the valley, being surrounded by only the mountains at night!
We hope you have a wonderful festive season.

Best wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

We will definitely be back to stay! We loved the room and it was perfect to be able to sit in the beer garden and have a couple of drinks knowing we didn't have to drive!
We saved the spa for the morning which was great.
The food was wonderful, we just picked a couple of bites off the bar menu as we were quite happy sitting outside. Really yum! Nicest nachos we have had out and the chicken was delicious. Make sure you check out the wee shop too.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

Room tip: All the rooms looked lovely!
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeleseTravelManagers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback on both the hotel and gift shop!
Our garden bar is the perfect place for a big pile of nachos isn't it?!

We hope you are having a lovely festive season, and look forward to seeing you again sometime,

Best wishes,

CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2020

Worth a stop as you are passing through. They have rooms for staying here as well. We were able to walk through on the property and go into the store area. It is a cool place check out. Could be nice play to stay as well.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank O3946EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

Comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Great ambiance and lovely courtyard gardens with quirky artifacts. Outdoor and indoor fires, friendly and efficient staff. Good bed and shower. Close to Wanaka and Queenstown with other attractions nearby.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank celticnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews