We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (582)
Filter reviews
582 results
Traveller rating
398
128
37
16
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
398
128
37
16
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden mulled wine historic hotel crown range wedges outdoor fire beef wellington open fireplace lovely garden new zealand hot tub stayed two nights south island fires cardrona queenstown iconic
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 582 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2020

Worth a stop as you are passing through. They have rooms for staying here as well. We were able to walk through on the property and go into the store area. It is a cool place check out. Could be nice play to stay as well.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Service
Thank O3946EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2020 via mobile

Comfortable and relaxing place to stay. Great ambiance and lovely courtyard gardens with quirky artifacts. Outdoor and indoor fires, friendly and efficient staff. Good bed and shower. Close to Wanaka and Queenstown with other attractions nearby.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank celticnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

I've always wanted to visit the Cardrona Hotel, so thought we would stay here as part of my birthday road trip around the South Island.

We had the Captains room in the hotel, which is more expensive than the others, but still good value we thought. The room was immaculate with a super comfy bed and great decor.

The bar is cosy, and as a Brit, what I consider a proper pub. The garden is awesome and we enjoyed drinking by the open fire outside as the temperature cooled. We had dinner with two friends who were staying onsite in their campervan (this is allowed if you spend money in the bar or restaurant). The food was absolutely exceptional. Three of us had the Beef Wellington and agreed it was the best we'd ever had. If you come here and this is on the menu, do yourself a favour and get it. Breakfast was also very good.

All in all a great stay. We can't wait to come back and stay during ski season.

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2020

Hi Lisa,

It was a pleasure to have you all stay with us!
Thank you for your review, we are so pleased that you had a fabulous time here.

The team looks forward to having you back in ski season!

Warmest wishes,
CH

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2020 via mobile

On my bucket list for approx 30 years to spend a night. Sadly have mixed feelings about it. Staff were welcoming and friendly. Very quirky pub with an enormous amount of history contained. Loved the schist and authentic fittings. Lots of areas to sit, Stand or lounge around. Lovely in front of open fire despite it being smokey at times. Check in from 2pm so sat in garden having a drink as we were early. Finally got into our room at 2.40 and they were still cleaning rooms. Room had lovely fragrance from a deodoriser. Furniture looked tired with obvious dents and staining worn. Very old "square box". TV. No fridge. Bed too firm for our liking but room was warm. Shower was dump head with single taps which took some work to get right temp. Walls paper thin so little sleep. Could hear neighbours talking and snoring into the wee hours. Sad experience considering the price. Given free breakfast to compensate for our tolerance of noise and lack of sleep. Bar meal selection had plenty of variety but evening meal very over priced. They ran out of venison and beef Wellington so made choices even more limited. Garlic loaf to start with was so heavy with garlic, even after I scraped it off, I still tasted it all night and some of the next day. My meal of the hot choice meal - 1/4 chicken, mash and spicy gravy was over priced for this - not even a vegetable. Plenty of dining space. Dessert was tasty and well presented. Outdoor garden and fire gave lovely ambience. Hot tub in the garden a real bonus and I will be holding special memories from this. Popular stop for many tourists. Glad I have done it but was disappointed.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dibbydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardrona Hotel, Owner at Cardrona Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2020

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the character and atmosphere of our historic pub and had a pleasant stay.

We appreciate your feedback about the rooms, some of our rooms are set for refurbishment shortly.

Our evening meals are designed to be accompanied by shared plates and sides of vegetables, our apologies if this wasn’t communicated clearly by our waitstaff.

It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we do hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
CH.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2020 via mobile

Lovely ambience.
Nice surroundings and friendly staff.
Managed a busy lunch time well though we did get ours lost lol. But no biggie . Fabulous soup and lots of good photo opportunities.
Def be back next trip

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 371debc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews