We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (451)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveller rating
293
108
32
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
293
108
32
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden historic hotel mulled wine crown range wedges local history gold rush outdoor fire venison open fireplace continental breakfast family room lovely garden new zealand great spot stayed two nights hot tub
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This was a return visit for us and again we loved the sense that everyone was enjoying the experience. We only stopped for coffee and cakes [it is a handy pull in after the climb up from Queenstown] but loved the garden and the friendly service The staff team was working hard to maintain good service while also tidying the garden. Impressive

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank voyagerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This historic hotel is a great place to visit. Full of history, chapter and fun. The staff are very helpful. Lovely garden plus lots of indoor seating. Sadly we stopped just for coffee and a cake. But the menu looked very good.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

A charming, history hotel which is well worth a visit. Staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. We stayed one night in a old-style but very functional and clean room. I'll also give extra points for using local spa products for the included toiletries! The garden surrounding the hotel is lovely, where you can sit outside and have a drink from the bar. The dinner we had in the restaurant was also of high quality (we tried the venison fillet and a NZ rib-eye steak). The only thing I expected more from was the included breakfast, which was a very average continental buffet, despite the fact that the restaurant does have an interesting breakfast menu for other guests visiting. Overall, it is still very good value for money.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Stumbled on the Cardrona after a booking mishap elsewhere. What a treat! Old fashioned, shabby-chic in an original gold rush hotel. Very laid back and relaxed. Wonderful garden area to the rear. Quaint bedrooms and great food.
Excellent value for money which included breakfast in the price.

Room tip: Perhaps chose a room away from the main road.
Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 732jonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Just had 3 of the best meals - Rib Eye, Venison and Lamb rump at the Cardrone Hotel Restaurant. 10/10 from our table. Meat was divinely cooked, sides a perfect complement and a wonderful Yalumba Menzies Cab Sauvignon to accompany. Perfect food and tremendous Italian service.

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RGS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews