We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
430 results
Traveller rating
278
106
30
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
278
106
30
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beer garden historic hotel mulled wine crown range wedges local history olde world outdoor fire gold rush open fireplace continental breakfast is venison new zealand days skiing couple of nights great spot stayed two nights
Filter
Updating list...
209 - 214 of 430 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2016

This was a return visit for us and again we loved the sense that everyone was enjoying the experience. We only stopped for coffee and cakes [it is a handy pull in after the climb up from Queenstown] but loved the garden and the friendly service The staff team was working hard to maintain good service while also tidying the garden. Impressive

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank voyagerSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

This historic hotel is a great place to visit. Full of history, chapter and fun. The staff are very helpful. Lovely garden plus lots of indoor seating. Sadly we stopped just for coffee and a cake. But the menu looked very good.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2016

A charming, history hotel which is well worth a visit. Staff was very friendly and gave us a warm welcome. We stayed one night in a old-style but very functional and clean room. I'll also give extra points for using local spa products for the included toiletries! The garden surrounding the hotel is lovely, where you can sit outside and have a drink from the bar. The dinner we had in the restaurant was also of high quality (we tried the venison fillet and a NZ rib-eye steak). The only thing I expected more from was the included breakfast, which was a very average continental buffet, despite the fact that the restaurant does have an interesting breakfast menu for other guests visiting. Overall, it is still very good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsrist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Stumbled on the Cardrona after a booking mishap elsewhere. What a treat! Old fashioned, shabby-chic in an original gold rush hotel. Very laid back and relaxed. Wonderful garden area to the rear. Quaint bedrooms and great food.
Excellent value for money which included breakfast in the price.

Room Tip: Perhaps chose a room away from the main road.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016

Just had 3 of the best meals - Rib Eye, Venison and Lamb rump at the Cardrone Hotel Restaurant. 10/10 from our table. Meat was divinely cooked, sides a perfect complement and a wonderful Yalumba Menzies Cab Sauvignon to accompany. Perfect food and tremendous Italian service.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
Thank RGS1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews