We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Kathleen
Chicago, Illinois

Amazing lake views!

Review of The Moorings
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2024
Amazing little apartment in the heart of Wanaka -- <5 min walk from all restaurants and shops. But the highlight is the AMAZING view from the balcony -- the best part of my stay was sitting out there enjoying the view with a cup of tea or glass of wine. Parking can be a bit tight if they are at full capacity. Would recommend to anyone traveling to the area!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Location, location, location
$177
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Hotels.com
    $163
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
$257
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $257
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Hotels.com
    $253
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • Vio.com
    $188
  • Priceline
    $207
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$330
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $324
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Expedia.com
    $294
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$327
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $328
  • Vio.com
    $317
  • Priceline
    $327
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
Wanaka Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $166
  • Priceline
    $199
0.2 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Studio
$160
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
    $160
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
$246
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $251
  • Vio.com
    $101
0.6 km from The Moorings
$328
  • Expedia.com
    $309
  • Vio.com
    $274
  • Hotels.com
    $285
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$550
  • Priceline
    $550
  • Official Site
    $550
  • Vio.com
    $550
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2024 via mobile

Great location , great price and nice rooms however the inability to service the rooms is a big negative. The reason was the lack of staff!! Could well be true but nowhere else in the area was this given as a reason not to do something. The bin could have been emptied at least!!
That said we would return as the rooms out the front have great views and everything is within walking distance. Good value for money and maybe the price reflected the lack of room servicing. The manager is hsrdcase- nice friendly guy.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 February 2024 via mobile

Easy check in. Fabulous location with a lakefront west facing balcony😲🙏☀️. Friendly staff, large room, extra large double bed, wished we could have stayed longer.

Good toiletries and tea/coffee/milk.

Walk to cafes, bars and restaurants. Strongly recommend Amigos. We went on Taco Tuesday and food and service was spot on. Also try the Churros!

Room tip: Free parking. Book Lakeview.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 December 2023

A good motel: good sized room with good view from balcony over lake: easy parking behind block. Good facilities / comfortable : just a 5 min wander to lake side town centre and eating/ drinking places

Room tip: Try Sagun Nepalese restaurant ; just off lake frontage in town.V good food
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The Lakefront Twin studio was perfect--very comfortable and spacious and so enjoyable to sit looking over the lawn and down to the lakefront-so close! Also close to the cafes and shops in town and in the middle of stunning country. The heated floor in the bathroom was much appreciated too. Definitely staying here again!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

Overnight stay in Wanaka on business. Great location, beautiful views of the lake from the balcony. Service was great, very friendly and professional. Easy check in & out.
Rooms had lots of amenities. Bathrooms slightly dated, but shower was hot and that’s all that counts.

Room tip: Parking onsite available at no charge.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Feebee0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews