We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$218
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
No prepayment needed
Priceline
$218
Fully refundable before Wed, 29 May
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$218
Fully refundable before Thu, 30 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Xante
Yorkshire, United Kingdom

Amazing location, great sleep quality!

Review of The Moorings
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Feb 2024via mobile
Easy check in. Fabulous location with a lakefront west facing balcony😲🙏☀️. Friendly staff, large room, extra large double bed, wished we could have stayed longer.

Good toiletries and tea/coffee/milk.

Walk to cafes, bars and restaurants. Strongly recommend Amigos. We went on Taco Tuesday and food and service was spot on. Also try the Churros!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: Free parking. Book Lakeview.
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$461
  • Expedia.com
    $575
  • Vio.com
    $408
  • Hotels.com
    $576
0.1 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$246
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Vio.com
    $218
  • Hotels.com
    $246
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $180
  • Agoda.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $165
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Booking.com
$330
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    $288
  • Priceline
    $295
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$254
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Agoda.com
    $223
  • travelup.com
    $881
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
Spring in your step!
Booking.com
$196
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $196
  • Agoda.com
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $196
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $219
  • Expedia.com
    $219
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$280
  • Priceline
    $254
  • Agoda.com
    $244
  • Vio.com
    $254
21.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$250
  • Expedia.com
    $228
  • Agoda.com
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $214
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
$215
  • Expedia.com
  • Agoda.com
    $175
  • Priceline
    $215
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (579)
Filter reviews
579 results
Traveller rating
378
163
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
378
163
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 579 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2023

A good motel: good sized room with good view from balcony over lake: easy parking behind block. Good facilities / comfortable : just a 5 min wander to lake side town centre and eating/ drinking places

Room tip: Try Sagun Nepalese restaurant ; just off lake frontage in town.V good food
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank John Alistair W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023

The Lakefront Twin studio was perfect--very comfortable and spacious and so enjoyable to sit looking over the lawn and down to the lakefront-so close! Also close to the cafes and shops in town and in the middle of stunning country. The heated floor in the bathroom was much appreciated too. Definitely staying here again!

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank janine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2023 via mobile

Overnight stay in Wanaka on business. Great location, beautiful views of the lake from the balcony. Service was great, very friendly and professional. Easy check in & out.
Rooms had lots of amenities. Bathrooms slightly dated, but shower was hot and that’s all that counts.

Room tip: Parking onsite available at no charge.
Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Feebee0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Our family were set to stay here at the end of September for a night. We had a family holiday planned and really wanted to take our kids to Wanaka because both my partner and I have always enjoyed it. We decided to go “the long way” so we could spend a night in Wanaka.
Unfortunately we had to change plans and travel routes due to state highway road closures from recent flooding and slips. We informed the motel immediately once we realised and they sounded very accommodating and understanding when I spoke to them over the phone. I was lead to believe that we would in fact not be charged.
We had booked through booking.com and were told that to cancel our reservation we had to go through them but he would keep an eye out and ensure everything would be sorted.
We were very disappointed to see that our request to waive the fee was declined by The Moorings.
I understand that at times, charges deserve to be charged however having to cancel our stay was partially due to reasons outside of our control - we really could not justify adding on an extra 8.5hours travel time just for a nights stay instead of what would usually be 2.5hour drive, especially with two young children.
With plans to return home via Wanaka, it is unlikely that we will consider The Moorings.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Journey62643446620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

The motel is in a very handy location, you can walk into the main shopping and restaurants and bars. It was a fairly standard motel inside, but does have amazing views of the lake. I think that’s what you pay for the view. The toilet in our bathroom had been broken and was glued and blue tacked up and looked like it had been that for sometime. Room had everything we needed and bed was comfortable. It was full but didn’t hear any noise at night.
Nothing amazing apart from the views but still clean and tidy.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank feebee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews