We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Feebee0801
Lysterfield, Australia

Wanaka Overnight Stop

Review of The Moorings
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Dec 2023via mobile
Overnight stay in Wanaka on business. Great location, beautiful views of the lake from the balcony. Service was great, very friendly and professional. Easy check in & out.
Rooms had lots of amenities. Bathrooms slightly dated, but shower was hot and that’s all that counts.
Date of stay: December 2023
Room Tip: Parking onsite available at no charge.
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$513
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
0.1 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$295
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $295
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$179
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
Spring in your step!
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
$183
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.2 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$149
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $169
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $164
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $142
  • Priceline
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2023

Our family were set to stay here at the end of September for a night. We had a family holiday planned and really wanted to take our kids to Wanaka because both my partner and I have always enjoyed it. We decided to go “the long way” so we could spend a night in Wanaka.
Unfortunately we had to change plans and travel routes due to state highway road closures from recent flooding and slips. We informed the motel immediately once we realised and they sounded very accommodating and understanding when I spoke to them over the phone. I was lead to believe that we would in fact not be charged.
We had booked through booking.com and were told that to cancel our reservation we had to go through them but he would keep an eye out and ensure everything would be sorted.
We were very disappointed to see that our request to waive the fee was declined by The Moorings.
I understand that at times, charges deserve to be charged however having to cancel our stay was partially due to reasons outside of our control - we really could not justify adding on an extra 8.5hours travel time just for a nights stay instead of what would usually be 2.5hour drive, especially with two young children.
With plans to return home via Wanaka, it is unlikely that we will consider The Moorings.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Journey62643446620
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2023 via mobile

The motel is in a very handy location, you can walk into the main shopping and restaurants and bars. It was a fairly standard motel inside, but does have amazing views of the lake. I think that’s what you pay for the view. The toilet in our bathroom had been broken and was glued and blue tacked up and looked like it had been that for sometime. Room had everything we needed and bed was comfortable. It was full but didn’t hear any noise at night.
Nothing amazing apart from the views but still clean and tidy.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank feebee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 April 2023

Great location, very short walk to cafes, restaurants and grocery stores. We got a lakeside apartment which had great views of the lake and mountains. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Would recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nlee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2023

Spotlessly clean lodgings with accomodating staff within a short walking distance of dining and shopping areas. We adjusted our arrival date at the last minute coming in a day earlier and The Moorings just happened to have one room left to accomodate our change of plans. So we got a half dayoff to catch up on doing some laundry and chilling out before resuming our NZ adventures.
We definitely loved this place and appreciate that Darren and his staff did a great job accomodating us durung our stay.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Regomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

Really nice apartment, however, it was on the small side.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, but dining table only had 4 chairs, as did the outdoor setting, and kitchen was also quiet small.
However, apartment was clean and tidy, and was well positioned.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thegarvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews