We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
feebee10
otago

Nice, clean rooms. Nothing special apart from the views.

Review of The Moorings
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Apr 2023via mobile
The motel is in a very handy location, you can walk into the main shopping and restaurants and bars. It was a fairly standard motel inside, but does have amazing views of the lake. I think that’s what you pay for the view. The toilet in our bathroom had been broken and was glued and blue tacked up and looked like it had been that for sometime. Room had everything we needed and bed was comfortable. It was full but didn’t hear any noise at night.
Nothing amazing apart from the views but still clean and tidy.
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$340
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $340
  • Expedia.com
    $340
  • Hotels.com
    $340
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
$198
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $198
  • Agoda.com
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $198
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
$558
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $511
  • Agoda.com
    $486
  • Priceline
    $498
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$407
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $364
  • Agoda.com
    $313
  • Expedia.com
    $362
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
$259
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $259
  • Agoda.com
    $237
  • Expedia.com
    $254
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
$317
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $317
  • Priceline
    $317
  • Hotels.com
    $317
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
$234
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $234
  • Hotels.com
    $193
  • Expedia.com
    $234
0.2 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $178
  • Vio.com
    $104
0.6 km from The Moorings
$225
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Hotels.com
    $185
  • Expedia.com
    $225
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$845
  • Priceline
    $845
  • Hotels.com
    $845
  • Expedia.com
    $844
0.1 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2023

Great location, very short walk to cafes, restaurants and grocery stores. We got a lakeside apartment which had great views of the lake and mountains. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Would recommend!

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nlee149
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2023

Spotlessly clean lodgings with accomodating staff within a short walking distance of dining and shopping areas. We adjusted our arrival date at the last minute coming in a day earlier and The Moorings just happened to have one room left to accomodate our change of plans. So we got a half dayoff to catch up on doing some laundry and chilling out before resuming our NZ adventures.
We definitely loved this place and appreciate that Darren and his staff did a great job accomodating us durung our stay.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Regomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

Really nice apartment, however, it was on the small side.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, but dining table only had 4 chairs, as did the outdoor setting, and kitchen was also quiet small.
However, apartment was clean and tidy, and was well positioned.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thegarvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023 via mobile

We reserved one of their 3-bedroom lakeview units because (supposedly) it was the only room they had left while we were in Wanaka The owner/manager had us sign a contract for a 3-bedroom - and prepay our entire stay - before he put us in a 2-bedroom until with a mostly obstructed lakeview. When we asked him to refund us the difference for taking a smaller unit, he refused. Don’t sign or prepay for a room here until you see it. The management has no integrity.

Room tip: This would be the last place I’d stay in Wānaka - management has no integrity
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious08228033532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great location close to restaurants, shops and the lake. Also has off street parking which is very useful at peak times. Comfortable and clean apartment for the three of us. We didn’t use the kitchen but it looked to be well equipped and there was a bbq as well. A small outdoor patio was a great spot to watch the sun go up or down each day over the lake.

Couple of things to be aware of: The Wi-Fi was ok for checking emails, websites etc but not strong enough for streaming services. There are also major staff shortages everywhere in Wanaka which requires some flexibility around service expectations. The apartment wasn’t serviced during our 7-day stay.

But these are minor issues in what was otherwise a great stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 422louises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews