We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Noms
Mount Helena, Australia

Great location, clean, great view

Review of The Moorings
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2023
Great location, very short walk to cafes, restaurants and grocery stores. We got a lakeside apartment which had great views of the lake and mountains. Room was clean and bed was comfortable. Would recommend!
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$219
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Hotels.com
    $218
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
$168
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $168
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Expedia.com
    $168
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
$398
  • Hotels.com
    $513
  • Expedia.com
    $513
  • Trip.com
0.1 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$330
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $302
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • Expedia.com
    $297
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $147
  • Expedia.com
    $177
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
$176
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $158
  • Agoda.com
    $161
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Spring in your step!
$209
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $190
  • Priceline
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$177
  • Expedia.com
    $150
  • Hotels.com
    $155
  • Agoda.com
    $150
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$175
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $136
  • Expedia.com
    $141
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $158
  • Vio.com
0.6 km from The Moorings
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2023

Spotlessly clean lodgings with accomodating staff within a short walking distance of dining and shopping areas. We adjusted our arrival date at the last minute coming in a day earlier and The Moorings just happened to have one room left to accomodate our change of plans. So we got a half dayoff to catch up on doing some laundry and chilling out before resuming our NZ adventures.
We definitely loved this place and appreciate that Darren and his staff did a great job accomodating us durung our stay.

Date of stay: March 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Regomatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 February 2023 via mobile

Really nice apartment, however, it was on the small side.
We stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, but dining table only had 4 chairs, as did the outdoor setting, and kitchen was also quiet small.
However, apartment was clean and tidy, and was well positioned.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank thegarvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 January 2023 via mobile

We reserved one of their 3-bedroom lakeview units because (supposedly) it was the only room they had left while we were in Wanaka The owner/manager had us sign a contract for a 3-bedroom - and prepay our entire stay - before he put us in a 2-bedroom until with a mostly obstructed lakeview. When we asked him to refund us the difference for taking a smaller unit, he refused. Don’t sign or prepay for a room here until you see it. The management has no integrity.

Room tip: This would be the last place I’d stay in Wānaka - management has no integrity
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Curious08228033532
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great location close to restaurants, shops and the lake. Also has off street parking which is very useful at peak times. Comfortable and clean apartment for the three of us. We didn’t use the kitchen but it looked to be well equipped and there was a bbq as well. A small outdoor patio was a great spot to watch the sun go up or down each day over the lake.

Couple of things to be aware of: The Wi-Fi was ok for checking emails, websites etc but not strong enough for streaming services. There are also major staff shortages everywhere in Wanaka which requires some flexibility around service expectations. The apartment wasn’t serviced during our 7-day stay.

But these are minor issues in what was otherwise a great stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 422louises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2022

We’ve stayed here before, this time we stayed in a two bedroom unit. The location is great and the unit is lovely and cosy in the cold weather. We appreciated the facilities like dryer and the kitchen. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews