We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Curious08228033532

Be careful! Inspect your room before signing or paying for it.

Review of The Moorings
2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Jan 2023via mobile
We reserved one of their 3-bedroom lakeview units because (supposedly) it was the only room they had left while we were in Wanaka The owner/manager had us sign a contract for a 3-bedroom - and prepay our entire stay - before he put us in a 2-bedroom until with a mostly obstructed lakeview. When we asked him to refund us the difference for taking a smaller unit, he refused. Don’t sign or prepay for a room here until you see it. The management has no integrity.
Date of stay: January 2023
Room Tip: This would be the last place I’d stay in Wānaka - management has no integrity
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$294
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $294
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$207
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $207
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$327
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
Executive Studio
$206
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $206
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
View of 3 bedroom chalet
$265
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $265
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
$309
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $177
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $255
  • Priceline
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • Expedia.com
    $199
0.2 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    $550
  • Priceline
23.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2023 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom apartment. Great location close to restaurants, shops and the lake. Also has off street parking which is very useful at peak times. Comfortable and clean apartment for the three of us. We didn’t use the kitchen but it looked to be well equipped and there was a bbq as well. A small outdoor patio was a great spot to watch the sun go up or down each day over the lake.

Couple of things to be aware of: The Wi-Fi was ok for checking emails, websites etc but not strong enough for streaming services. There are also major staff shortages everywhere in Wanaka which requires some flexibility around service expectations. The apartment wasn’t serviced during our 7-day stay.

But these are minor issues in what was otherwise a great stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 422louises
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2022

We’ve stayed here before, this time we stayed in a two bedroom unit. The location is great and the unit is lovely and cosy in the cold weather. We appreciated the facilities like dryer and the kitchen. Thanks so much.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank KiwiCat1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 May 2022

We stayed in a downstairs studio. The location is perfect - Lakefront & 2 minutes walk to the main street.
Good to have underfloor heating in bathroom & kitchenette area.
The bed mattress was well past its use-by date, no support & didn’t make for a good nights sleep. Mentioned to owner that it needed replacing, who said “it is on the list”. Hopefully it is at the top of his list! Also some maintenance matters that should have been attended to :- bathroom door would not fully close, shower slider wouldn’t lock in position & toilet flush button didn't work properly.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2022 via mobile

Lovely stay. Beautiful lake view and the bed was super comfy. We had such a lovely time and the male receptionist who greeted us was very friendly and welcoming :) the only mention I could make is maybe installing heated towel rails as our towels didn’t have time to dry overnight but apart from that a very pleasant stay!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shyniesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Very nice place to stay. Due for an update inside. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants and across the road from the lake. Great views from the balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful The was no room service due to COVID.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews