We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jim S
Havelock North, New Zealand

Great Location - But

Review of The Moorings
3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 May 2022
We stayed in a downstairs studio. The location is perfect - Lakefront & 2 minutes walk to the main street.
Good to have underfloor heating in bathroom & kitchenette area.
The bed mattress was well past its use-by date, no support & didn’t make for a good nights sleep. Mentioned to owner that it needed replacing, who said “it is on the list”. Hopefully it is at the top of his list! Also some maintenance matters that should have been attended to :- bathroom door would not fully close, shower slider wouldn’t lock in position & toilet flush button didn't work properly.
Date of stay: May 2022
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Location, location, location
$226
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $206
  • Vio.com
    $176
  • Hotels.com
    $191
0.4 km from The Moorings
Free parking
$307
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $266
  • Vio.com
    $96
0.6 km from The Moorings
Golf Course Rd Chalets
$225
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $225
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
$235
  • Expedia.com
    $219
  • Agoda.com
    $190
  • Hotels.com
    $220
2.4 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $279
  • Vio.com
    $263
  • Priceline
    $279
0.5 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Wanaka Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    $552
  • Booking.com
0.2 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $359
  • Agoda.com
    $278
  • Priceline
    $321
1.9 km from The Moorings
Free parking
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $259
  • Agoda.com
    $237
  • Priceline
    $259
0.3 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $330
  • Vio.com
    $283
  • Hotels.com
    $324
2.0 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
Free parking
View of 3 bedroom chalet
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $265
  • Hotels.com
    $265
  • Priceline
    $265
0.7 km from The Moorings
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
379
164
27
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location lake and mountains stayed in a bedroom apartment restaurants and bars comfortable stay stayed for nights views motel lakefront units bbq laundry nz kitchen
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2022 via mobile

Lovely stay. Beautiful lake view and the bed was super comfy. We had such a lovely time and the male receptionist who greeted us was very friendly and welcoming :) the only mention I could make is maybe installing heated towel rails as our towels didn’t have time to dry overnight but apart from that a very pleasant stay!

Date of stay: March 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank shyniesed
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 November 2021

Very nice place to stay. Due for an update inside. Within walking distance to shops, restaurants and across the road from the lake. Great views from the balcony. Staff very friendly and helpful The was no room service due to COVID.

Date of stay: November 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cherie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2021 via mobile

We stayed with another couple in a two bedroom two bathroom apartment. The location is fantastic, walking distance to town for coffee, breakfast, dinner and shopping, and right in the lake front for morning walks and runs. The apartment was clean, well set up and comfortable. It had a really homely feel to it and we enjoyed the kitchen facilities for having some meals in. Price was great too. Overall we highly recommend.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sunshine22695455910
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 October 2021

We checked in at the last minute tired Travellers, the moorings were very friendly and accomadating hosts. Great hospitality very clean and tidy room. Reasonably priced with a stunning view. Walk to dinner was no more than a 4 minute stroll great location.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank JacindaSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 August 2021

We recently completed a family road trip around the South Island, staying at Maruia Springs, Franz Josef, Wanaka, and Hanmer.

Our longest stay of the trip was 7 nights spent in Wanaka at The Moorings. At $430 per night the two bedroom two bathroom apartment was by far the most expensive accommodation of our trip. It was intended as a special treat after our holiday last year was cancelled due to Covid.

The location was second to none but other than that it was disappointing and did not live up to expectations.

One day into our stay Sky TV stopped working and when the technician came to repair it we found it replaced with smart TV apps that relied on subscriber services and high speed Internet. There were two All Black tests and a State of Origin game on during our stay that we wanted to catch so we were required to subscribe to SkySportNow. We did this only to discover that the advertised ‘high speed internet’ was not capable of reliably streaming the service. All games were glitchy to the point of being unwatchable. This was mentioned to management on our departure and we were informed they were aware of the issue and that fibre was being installed soon. No compensation was offered.

Neither of the toilets flushed freely and required the user to flush up to three times after use. This was also mentioned on our departure.

We booked a two bedroom family apartment. The large upstairs master bedroom with the views and ensuite, and was locked off on our arrival, had been converted to a queen plus single so we had to put the kids in there and stay downstairs in the much smaller guest room. The downstairs bedroom door had to be left slightly ajar or it rattled in the jam every time someone walked around upstairs.

The downstairs bathroom had no lock on the door (which also would not close without slamming) and no facilities for sanitary products. My wife and both daughters had to resort to only using the upstairs ensuite bathroom. The bath was also in the downstairs bathroom, it would have been nice to be able to relax in the bath without worrying about someone accidentally walking in.

The dining table was so wonky that you could not cut your food on it if someone had a drink on the table without causing the drink to spill.

We had to go out and buy a carving knife, cheese knife, and tea strainer as none of these items were provided.

The outdoor Bbq area was lovely but the lighting was broken so at night you could not see what you were doing and the stairs were very dangerous.

The overall feel of the property was that it was a bit run down and badly setup. It was also very overpriced. We stayed in a beautiful two bedroom apartment in Hanmer that was bigger, more modern, better appointed, and only $285 per night.

I would not stay at The Moorings again as the price was in no way reflected in the quality of the accommodation. There are better options available at that price point, or even for cheaper.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank wellibrownsNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews