We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$131
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$130
Expedia.comUS$130
eDreamsUS$131
CheapTicketsUS$130
TravelocityUS$130
Orbitz.comUS$130
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (559)
Filter reviews
559 results
Traveller rating
367
158
26
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
367
158
26
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location overlooking the lake studio unit restaurants and shops within easy walking distance close to town first floor stunning views south island self catering comfortable bed would definitely stay here again glass of wine a great place to stay cooking facilities lake wanaka new zealand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 559 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2021 via mobile

Lakefront modern, serviced apartments. Very comfortable and clean. Friendly, helpful service. Easy walking to restaurants, cafes, bars and shopping. Across the road from playground, which would be handy for families. So much to see from the deck. Loved this property.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Posie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2020 via mobile

Well priced, handy location and lovely view of the lake. Staff were very personable and went over and above what is expected. Will be staying here whenever we are in Wanaka next. Laundry facilities were good and I see that had apartments also (we stayed in motel room).

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RennieMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2020 via mobile

Had nothing booked as we arrived at Wānaka. Drove along the water front and liked the look and location of The Moorings so went in for an inspection and decided to stay. My wife had broken her wrist the day before and we originally were only planning on staying in Wānaka 2 night. It was such a nice place and good location that we ended up staying for 6 nights. Clean and tidy room with everything that we needed. Good views of the lake. Easy walk to cafes and shops. Reasonably priced. Manager was friendly and helpful. Would happily stay again next visit to Wānaka.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank dave c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Sutherland, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2020

Thanks for your review Dave, much appreciated. I hope Anita's wrist is healing well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2020 via mobile

We found this lovely place on TripAdvisor and thought the price was good. A great host welcomed us and was very friendly. The room was so much better than we expected. Very roomy and modern. The view from the deck was beautiful. Spacious bathroom and awesome kitchen facilities. Good laundry available too. Great value for money. Fabulous location with a short walk to everything.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 856glenysc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Sutherland, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

Wow, thanks for your detailed review. It is much appreciated. It would be great to see you in Wanaka another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2020

Booked a room for three adults. Arrived at reception to be told it would an extra $30 for the extra person and paid without any problems. A rollaway bed was delivered to the room that seriously would have had trouble to swing a cat in. The bed was broken so was returned. The one that was replaced with was so uncomfortable the person who was sleeping in that ended up on the floor. The heat pump is noisy. The bathrooms need regrouting and the traffic noise is bad if you are in one of the front rooms. For $250 a night and a terrible night's sleep suggest you look elsewhere in Wanaka.

Room tip: Stay somewhere else
Date of stay: July 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jillian128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter Sutherland, Owner at The Moorings, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2020

The guest booked a king bed studio - clearly advertised as having a maximum occupancy of 2 people. The studios are spacious for 2 but not for 3 adults.
Unfortunately all our apartments were fully booked so we could not upgrade the guest to an apartment. We did our best but this guest was never going to be satisfied.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews