We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (933)
Filter reviews
933 results
Traveller rating
503
309
92
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
309
92
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews one bedroom suite duck pond a lake view room tennis courts lake edge buffet breakfast washer dryer walking track stunning location walk into town first floor new zealand the ground floor living area comfy bed great room south island
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 933 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

After initial being checked into a rather small room for 3 adults, on request we were upgraded to a much more suitable room. Great location to the water front though do need to drive to the town to eat

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

Two of us booked the lake view apartment. The room was spacious and the apartment had all the amenities. Some staff members at the reception were very helpful and the gentleman at the concierge was knowledgeable. We dined at the restaurant and the food was priced equivalent to any other fine dining place in the town. This is a good property to stay at if you are planning a drive to Corona ski area. The town center is ten minutes drive from this property.
One area of improvement would be to provide better AC in the living room and fix the door of the bathroom.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake view are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angelism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Angelism,

Thank you for writing a detailed review of your recent stay. I am glad you to hear that you had a great experience with our reception, concierge and restaurant staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2018

We stayed in a one bedroom unit and it was comfortable with every thing we needed. The view of the lake from the lounge was outstanding. The bed was very comfortable. Only thing we didn't like was the attached shower over the bath with shower curtain. The restaurant service and food was fantastic. We would stay there again. Good value for money as well.Loved the hot scones by the fire.

Room Tip: Go for a room with a lake view it is so worth it.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank htindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Dear htindall,

Thanks for the lovely and informative review. Edgewater is extra special in winter, our open fire is a great place to sample our dedicated scone menu, enjoy après ski or sample the delicious winter menu. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the food and beverage team. I’m delighted you found your bed comfortable – we have recently replaced these with new beds – made right here in the South Island. We are currently working on plans to refurbish our bathrooms so will take on your feedback. Safe travels and see you again.

Kind Regards
Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

We stayed here several nights ago. I was delighted with the room we were allocated. The only negative is that the bathroom had a very mouldy ceiling which could do with being repaired. But the hotel position was superb and the sunset was glorious. Red, red, red! Just beautiful and a crisp frosty morning the next day. I recommend this hotel and when I'm back in Wanaka again I'd love to stay here again.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carolyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Kia ora,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay with us and I’m delighted you would love to stay again when you are next in Wanaka. From all the team at Edgewater – we would love to welcome you back. I will pass on your comments re the bathroom to our Executive Housekeeper as this is not our normal standard.

Warm regards,
Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018

We had mixed feelings about this hotel.
On a positive note, it is very well situated right on the lake edge with great lake views.
We had asked for a quiet upstairs room and that is what we got.
However the room was very small, quite cramped in fact, and was quite dated.
It could do with a renovation.

Room Tip: I think that most rooms have a good view, but it would pay to check when booking.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews