We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edgewater
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$102
US$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Manuka Crescent Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$138
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (894)
Filter reviews
894 results
Traveller rating
482
287
88
21
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
482
287
88
21
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone bedroom suiteduck pondtennis courtslake edgebuffet breakfastwalking trackwasher dryerstunning locationwalk into townfirst floornew zealandthe ground floorliving areagreat roomsouth islandcomfy bedfantastic views
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 894 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Stayed for three nights at the Edgewater Resort and enjoyed our stay immensely. Location on the shores of Lake Wanaka is spectacular and the grounds are gorgeous and well-kept. Our 1BR suite had a LR, kitchenette, and W/D combo, which were very convenient. The resort is about a 1k walk from Wanaka town but shuttles and taxis are easy to find. There is an easy to follow path along the lake, and additional Queens Trust walking trails 5 mins in the other direction. Breakfast at the am spread is typical. Hot and cold options offered at different price points. Dinner at the Wineglass Cafe was just okay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank MegBedfordMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear MegBedfordMA,

I'm glad you enjoyed your three night stay - I think you need at least this amount of time to unwind and soak up the spectacular scenery and activities that Lake Wanaka is so famous for. Our one bedroom suites are a great option for an extended stay - I'm pleased you found all the in-room amenities useful. We are constantly working on and developing our food and beverage offering and have recently introduced our new Autumn menu. I do hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

The Edgewater is in a coveted position on Lake Wanaka with beautiful views of the lake and close to a lovely walking trail along the lake. While you can walk to downtown Wanaka, it is a very long walk. The rooms are pleasant and have kitchen facilities and small balconies (at least mine did). Unfortunately it was very hot when we were there and the rooms are not air conditioned so it was exceptionally warm in the room which made it difficult to sleep. On cooler days I am sure the rooms are fine.

The restaurant is OK, but not outstanding. There is an option to sit outside in nice weather which is a plus. There were many families staying at Edgewater enjoying long summer vacations and there were weddings happening as well. So it is a busy place.

Room Tip: Second floor water view rooms are great
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Junebughiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Junebughiker,

Thank you for taking the time to review. We're glad that you had a pleasant stay. All rooms are equipped with either a private balcony or terrace with lake views. Thank you for your comments regarding air conditioning, this is something that our management and owners are looking at. We have just experienced one of the hottest summers on record so it is becoming increasingly important. Your feedback does assist us in prioritising future capital expenditure, so thanks again.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Warm regards,
Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Very nice hotel in beautiful surrounding and great location. The town centre is 20-15 mins walk along the path on the lake.
That Wanaka Tree is approximately 10 mins walk away along the path.
The rooms were nice and clean with good facilities surrounded by nice lawn and a little lake within.
Staffs were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rameshlcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Rameshlcfc,

Thank you for your review, we hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and hope to welcome you back next time you're in Wanaka.

Warm regards,

Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Excellent layout on the lake front. Easy walk to town around the lake. Do need a car for exploring. Plenty of track walks. Very well equipped unit - even a newspaper available. Very quiet units making it easy to relax.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
1  Thank owenlynettepickles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear owenlynettepickles,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay at Edgewater. Glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay and had the chance to explore some of the walks available in Wanaka - Autumn is a beautiful time of year to explore on foot.

Best regards,

Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

The hotel is nice. We stayed in a suite with a bedroom, kitchen, restroom and sitting area. The rooms are a little older which was fine as they were clean and well kept. But don’t expect something brand new. We stayed on the ground floor and it was really nice to have a door we could walk out. If someone is staying above you the floors aren’t super tick so you can hear them moving around. If you book at a weekend there may be a wedding. You might want to ask before you book if you are concerned about being up until midnight. It is a close six to ten minute walk to the wanaka tree. It takes about twenty minutes to walk into town. The path on the lake is beautiful and worth the walk. You can also rent bikes at the hotel. The breakfast at the hotel was decent - but we preferred to eat in town at alchemy.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Raquel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EdgewaterWanaka, General Manager at Edgewater, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hi Raquel,

Thanks for taking the time to review. Enjoy the rest of your New Zealand travels.

Best regards,

Jon Brown

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews