We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Laurie V
San Mateo, California

Timeshare with visible trash and containers in front of the room

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Nov 2023via mobile
I would not recommend booking here. This is a timeshare that leases a few rooms through booking.com. The parking lot for the room we were assigned is filled with container boxes and trash. Take a look at the pictures I uploaded. There were only three parking spots available for our building. We asked for a different room when I pointed this out and they could not offer us an equivalent room. In addition they claim a kitchenette but all it has is a microwave and they use the closet space for dishes yet there is no real kitchen. Because they are using the closet for dishes the safe is completely inaccessible to people who are not 5’9” tall. See the picture I posted trying to access it. Also there was no detergent for the free laundry facilities and we had to ask for them to refill the detergent bins which they never did.
Date of stay: November 2023
Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$199
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $868
  • Agoda.com
    $161
  • Algotels
    $210
0.7 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free parking
Restaurant
$330
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $297
  • Agoda.com
    $274
  • ZenHotels.com
    $309
2.4 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
$340
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $341
  • ZenHotels.com
    $340
  • Hotels.com
    $340
2.2 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
$186
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    $170
  • Expedia.com
    $173
  • ZenHotels.com
    $173
2.3 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Location, location, location
$168
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • Agoda.com
    $142
  • Hotels.com
    $168
2.6 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free parking
Spring in your step!
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Agoda.com
    $181
  • Hotels.com
    $209
2.9 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
$322
  • ZenHotels.com
    $285
  • Agoda.com
    $273
  • Expedia.com
    $277
2.5 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
$195
  • Vio.com
  • Hotels.com
    $161
  • Expedia.com
    $176
21.7 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
$845
  • Tripadvisor
    $845
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
    $845
2.2 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
Free Wifi
Free parking
Go to your Happy Price
  • Agoda.com
    $196
  • Vio.com
1.9 km from Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham
View more hotels in Wanaka
Reviews (586)
Filter reviews
586 results
Traveller rating
304
195
60
18
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
195
60
18
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small gym studio room heated pool great place to stay no air conditioning great facilities resort town lake microwave bbq sink bikes winter skiing laundry cardrona
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 586 reviews
Reviewed 31 August 2023

Club Wyndham Wanaka felt like a corporate hotel! It didn't really ooze individual charm. I reckon within 90 seconds of checking in we were being given the corporate Time Share sell!! That said our typical box hotel room was clean and quiet. The bed was enormous and we had a great nights sleep. It felt there was a very clear divide between Time Share owners and paying guests. As guests we felt an inferior species!! Beware it is a bit out of town. Twenty + minute walk to the bars and cafe's and that was down a hill! Remember you have to walk back up! That said, what a walk into town, the lake shore is beautiful. Wyndham Wanaka is an ok hotel, with its pool, great for families, perhaps for us we would have preferred something a little less commercial.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank PaulWhitehead-Blair
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 June 2023

Lovely amenities and friendly helpful staff at reception. Definitely would stay again if we return at a cheaper rate. i had a promotion rate with my credit card and so it was definitely priced at a reasonable price.

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Footprints259810
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2023

This hotel is located out of the main area of Wanaka and for that we were grateful as Wanaka was so busy! It is a bit of walk into the main area for dinner so we were pleased we had a car.
Our room was perfectly servicable, clean and adequately appointed. Room fairly warm and glad we were not there in the height of summer as it would be very hot with no air conditioning.
Reception area was under renovations during our stay but staff were still happy to serve a night cap drink which we enjoyed sitting outside.
Plenty of people using the pool area, everything well maintained.

Date of stay: January 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Hotchin, Owner at Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Thank you for providing this feedback from your stay with us. The reception and lounge area is completed and is lovely space to enjoy your nightcap when you next visit.

We hope to see you back in beautiful Wanaka in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2023 via mobile

Great value, kitchenette, clean room, nice balcony with chairs, great pool with slide, free bikes to use, but no view. We used the bikes to ride along the lake. Book well ahead as it fills up. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Totally recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank healthnutgma
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mark Hotchin, Owner at Club Wyndham Wanaka, Trademark Collection by Wyndham, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2023

Hi Healthnutgma, thanks for your feedback from your recent stay with us in Wanaka.

Our bikes are definitely a popular activity for our guests and the lake is an amazing place to enjoy your ride.

We hope to welcome you back to Wanaka in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2023

We found this an odd hotel for the location. It definitely caters to families with kids. The cons - no AC and the rooms were very warm during the day, requiring windows to be open at night, resulting in hearing anyone who might be out on their balcony, which we experienced each night and it was loud. It is also a 20+/- minute walk to the lake and the City center, where all the restaurants are located. The pros - free laundry and a nice pool area. There was a snafu with our reservation, but the front desk staff was able to address and were attentive. The room was spacious and would be good for an extended stay.

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aaronh330
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews