We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Great”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #26 of 81 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 35 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 4pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed 20 February 2018

I was a little disappointed. There was not as many aircraft as I expected. Some nice cars, mostly being Cadillac's and Packards. A friend suggest I vist the Toy and Transport Museum next door and now I wish I did

Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, General Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken onboard your comments for future additions to the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (219)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"on display"
in 21 reviews
"vintage cars"
in 14 reviews
"retro cafe"
in 8 reviews
"military aircraft"
in 6 reviews
"aviation history"
in 6 reviews
"small museum"
in 4 reviews
"souvenir shop"
in 4 reviews
"interesting collection"
in 3 reviews
"great coffee"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"worth a stop"
in 5 reviews
"toy museum"
in 6 reviews
"great place to visit"
in 6 reviews
"new zealand"
in 10 reviews
"restored"
in 20 reviews
"exhibits"
in 28 reviews
"packard"
in 17 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 219 reviews

Reviewed 31 January 2018

This museum had a good display of aircraft, and an excellent display of unique historical cars. I now know how the expression, That's a duesy! came from.....the luxury Duesenberg vehicles. Some impressive models on display. Also liked the atmosphere of the attached retro cafe.

Thank trav078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, General Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback! We are very glad you enjoyed our museum and diner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2018

Some high quality exhibits but it is a small museum with not many to see. a bit disapointed. Perhaps all the museums on the airport need to get together.

Thank Tabrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, General Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2018 via mobile

Lots of superb old cars to see and drool over and a few planes. Plenty of local history to read about

Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, General Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you visiting us. Come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2018 via mobile

I have to admit disappointment that the Alpine Fighter Collection had morphed into a car museum in the main when there is in my opinion a more interesting vehicle museum next door. With only four admittedly important planes the main focus is the cars which are mainly American and gorgeously restored.

Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynette D, General Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We have taken onboard your comments for future additions to the museum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;