We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! What a display..”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed 13 April 2017

This is an amazing display of auto history and memorabilia. The Dusenberg is just sensational, one of a kind. Classic cars at every turn and great info on each.

1  Thank Grabman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your raving review! We're glad you loved the cars as much as we do! Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (203)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 203 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2017

Aviation history focused on New Zealand military pilots and airplanes. There were several aircraft to look at with a lot of information to read. There was a number of finely preserved old automobiles which were fun to look at and photograph. Probably not worth the $20 NZ entry fee.

1  Thank CyberDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. We're glad you enjoyed our museum, the cars are very photogenic!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

I'd been keen to visit this museum and found a gap in my schedule. So off I went. The 'marker' for this museum is an aircraft (L 39 ?) on a pedestal. It looks tatty and dirty and is not attractive yet not representative of the indoors exhibits. Inside there is a sparsely stocked shop and a small cafe. The museum is laid out in 3 distinct areas, the warbirds, wheels (mainly cars) and upstairs the Sir Tim Wallis display. There is also a gallery for art displays etc. Well laid out with adequate space between exhibits, clean and well maintained. Given however that the title is Warbirds and Wheels tha range of aircraft on display was somewhat disappointing, SE 5a, Hurricane, Vampire, Strikemaster and A4 giving a very restricted view of NZs military aircraft history. Some great and quite rare cars, many from the US and most in excellent condition, some really good photo opportunities. Overall disappointing in scope but what they did have was good. Surprised at no Spitfire , given Tim Wallis' history.

1  Thank Jim333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Even viewing the Warbirds from Lake Wanaka was a very special experience.
Best place to view was the side of the lake

Thank jOHN5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, Manager at Warbirds & Wheels, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

I am sorry but I think you have posted a comment about Warbirds Over Wanaka. We are the museum with a display of warbirds, cars and arts. Maybe you would like to respond on the correct. We are looking forward to Warbirds Over Wanaka in April 2018, and I hope you can come back to Wanaka for another visit to see the show, which is promising to be exciting and the display over the town will happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The displays were very well presented and very informative but the display is very small.
In saying that it was still very enjoyable and the cafe is worth a visit, very nice food.

1  Thank grh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. Our museum is small, with 30 classic cars and 5 planes so we try our best to give as much information as possible. Glad you enjoyed our diner, we like the food too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing