We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great show of old warplanes”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

Even viewing the Warbirds from Lake Wanaka was a very special experience.
Best place to view was the side of the lake

Thank jOHN5H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2017

The displays were very well presented and very informative but the display is very small.
In saying that it was still very enjoyable and the cafe is worth a visit, very nice food.

1  Thank grh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. Our museum is small, with 30 classic cars and 5 planes so we try our best to give as much information as possible. Glad you enjoyed our diner, we like the food too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017

There were rare cars on immaculate condition with excellent placarding to explain their history and mechanical details

Thank 61ColinFraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hello, thank you for your review! We're happy to share our prized pieces with you and all the knowledge we have!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Was very nice and well presented cars but was expecting a bit more to look at. What was there was a very high standard though

Thank HLE-94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review! Although small we do take pride in the quality of our exhibits, so thank you for noticing.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2017

Went here as my husband is a pilot. There aren't very many planes but he found it interesting nonetheless. We both really enjoyed all the cars on display. There is also a "haute trash" display in a separate room which is wearable fashion made from recycled materials. Display was fun and creative. There is an attached retro diner. We were glad we went but don't expect a huge display.

Thank minic00per
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review! We're glad you liked our Wanaka Wearable Arts Collection, it's quite amazing what our local people can create!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing