We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit but don't expect too much.”
Review of Warbirds & Wheels

Warbirds & Wheels
Ranked #23 of 80 things to do in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Our world-class visitor attraction showcases a collection of Warbirds aircraft, over 30 world class and privately owned classic cars, RealArt Roadshow of unique New Zealand art, wearable arts and tales of a local legend Sir Tim Wallis. This attraction also contains a 1950's retro diner with a wide range of delicious snacks baked on site daily, diner-style meals and refreshments, and retail shop with loads of exciting car and aircraft memorabilia. Open seven days 9am to 5pm. Located at the Wanaka airport, 9km from the township.
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Difficult to call this one. We thought we would see more of the famous 'Warbirds Over Wanaka' airshow items but maybe we should have gone to the nearby Transport Museum instead. Lots of old cars lovingly restored, but mainly American so unless you're an enthusiast, little nostalgia here for locals. 4 aircraft, but none airworthy and the poor old Skyhawk simply looks neglected. Other items in good condition. Perhaps the best things is the American styled coffee shop next door.

Thank petertaylor57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review! Although Warbirds Over Wanaka is held at the airport all the planes in the airshow are privately owned so unfortunately we don't have those planes in our museum. The Skyhawk has just had some much needed maintenance so no more look of neglect!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2017

This place has an amazing collection of old cars and airplanes. There is a wonderful tribute to the New Zealand war pilots.

Thank gshe2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hello, thank you for your review! I'm glad you enjoy our collection of classics and our tribute to New Zealand history as well!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Both my husband and I enjoyed our visit to the museum. He owns classic motorcycles so appreciated all the classics on show. I liked how much background information is provided so we understood their background. Great to be able to get a decent coffee out front as well.

Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi! Thank you for your review, so glad to hear you enjoyed our museum and you appreciated all the information we provide. We think all the background information really brings the cars to life! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

If, like me, you're an aeroplane enthusiast, especially jets, especially military jets, this might get your juices flowing, but, having paid my $20, I saw about 4, very old, very unloved (last dusted c. 5 years ago) planes, very disappointing.
On the other hand, the huge collection of obviously really treasured old cars is the opposite,
so, if you're an 80% car lover, this is for you, if you're 80% jets/WW2/ aviation, I think you'll be disappointed, as I was.

Thank kevinmorley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi, you are right we do have more cars than planes in our collection. Our plane collection houses the SE5A, a Hurricane, Vampire, Strikemaster and the Skyhawk so I'm sorry to hear you were disappointed with what we have. Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

We spent about an hour and a half here looking round the museum. The vintage cars in particular are beautifully kept and the few planes are interesting too. Outside you can also have fun watching the skydivers coming down!

Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 April 2017

Hi, thank you for your review. I'm glad you appreciated our beautiful collection of cars! We hope to see you again some time soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Warbirds & Wheels also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Warbirds & Wheels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing